Post #44: Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic

Mrspigglewiggle
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle's Magic by Betty MacDonald

Post number forty-four is for Betty MacDonald's Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle's Magic. This was another of the requirements for History of Children's Literature. I found this book utterly charming; the kids are real-life kids, and Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle's love and acceptance of them was perfect.

Brief spoilers follow.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

I loved the look at everyday kids. I loved how it drove their parents batty – whether it was "I thought you said-ers" or "Waddle-I-Doers" to "Heedless Breakers" – and they all ultimately ended up turning to Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle for advice. I love how we're never quite sure if it was magic that Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle was giving the parents to cure them of their bad habits or everyday things. And I loved how their bad behaviors were cured, but they were still kids. But mostly, I wish Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle were around to provide me with a magic pill to cure Constant Backtalkers, or Says Mean Thingers, etc. Real-life kids today could definitely do with some of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle's cures. :-P

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

