Post #49: A Wrinkle in Time

Wrinkleintime
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle

Post number forty-nine is for Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time, which was the final reading requirement for my History of Children's Literature course, and was actually a nice way to end the semester, as I enjoyed the book a lot. Unfortunately, I can't really remember certain aspects of it, because I read it a couple of weeks ago and am just now getting 'round to posting about it, but there are a couple of things I do remember loving, so will at least make mention of those.

Small spoilers follow.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

What I liked about this book: the sibling relationship between Meg and Charles Wallace, the interesting plot line (space time travel except … not?), Meg's realization that her father couldn't fix everything and sometimes it comes down to you yourself having to do something you don't think you can do, the fact that Meg and Calvin liked each other from the start and just because, and the way the book showed parents that couldn't fix everything.

This book is the first of a series, and while I liked it and found the story intriguing (I actually didn't mind reading this one, even though I was working on what felt like fifteen other things all at the same time), I don't think I'll read the rest of them. I kind of like not having that nifty tied-up ending; makes anything seem possible. :)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

