Post #24: American Born Chinese

Americanbornchinese
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

Post number twenty-four is for Gene Luen Yang's American Born Chinese, another required reading assignment for my YA Lit course. I'm not really sure what I think about this book. There are three intertwining stories in this book – one about Jin, a Chinese-American, one about Danny, a "normal" American kid who has a Chinese cousin who is completely over-the-top, and one about the Monkey King. The three stories are told in sort of installments, where you'll read the first bit about Jin, then switch to the first part of the Monkey King, then switch to Danny. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I don't really have all that much to say about this book. It was just okay, in my personal opinion. The stories revolved around accepting who you are and not trying to be anyone different, and there was a sort of shock reveal at the end. One thing about graphic novels is that it took me way less time to read 254 pages of this than it would have to read 254 pages of text. So that's one point in its favor, I guess. :-P

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

