Post #34: City of Bones [Mortal Intruments, Book One]

Well, it's the start of another semester of Grad School, and I once again have a reading-intensive course (this time, Fantasy Literature and Media for Youth), so I guess it's time to dust off this account and get back into the swing of posting.

Cityofbones

The Mortal Instruments, Book One: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Post number thirty-four is for Cassandra Clare's City of Bones, which is the first book in her "Mortal Instruments" trilogy. I've read this once already, but it had been several years, so I decided I'd need to read it again in order to be able to participate in a worthwhile fashion during class. (The other book assigned for that week was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, which I definitely did NOT need to reread.)

Slight spoilers follow.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

So, the reason these two books were assigned together was being a) Cassandra Clare used to be a fanfiction writer in the Harry Potter fandom and b) the books have some definite similarities. I didn't notice the similarities as much the first time I read City of Bones, but on my reread they definitely didn't escape my notice. First of all, you have a person (Clary, in this case) who finds out that they belong to a secret and magical world. Once they enter the world, they first have to learn about said world (Harry does so in Diagon Alley/Hogwarts, Clary does so once she sees Jace, Isabelle and Alec), and then they get caught up in a battle between good and evil, wherein the villain has a name that starts with a V (Voldemort/Valentine). They also learn that their parents had something to do with said evil (Harry's parents were killed by Voldemort, whereas Clary's father IS Valentine, whom her mother fled and tried to hide her from), etc. So, yeah. Lots of similarities there.

That being said, I still enjoyed the book a lot. I like the idea of Shadowhunters, I liked the humor and I liked the characters. It is not the best book ever, but it was still an enjoyable reread, and got me immersed enough that I'm going to try to squeeze in rereads of her other two MI books, so I can read City of Fallen Angels, which is the newest book in the no-longer-a-trilogy. We'll see if I can find the time to get them read in the next few months, though; my classes are going to be pretty time-consuming this semester!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

