Post #36: Skeleton Man

Skeletonman
Skeleton Man by Joseph Bruchac

Post number thirty-six is for Joseph Bruchac's Skeleton Man, another required reading assignment for Fantasy Lit/Media. Our professor included it because folklore can fall into the category of fantasy (something that should have been obvious but for some reason for me personally was not), and this book is basically a Native American (Mohawk tribe) tale. It had a supernatural, semi-scary twist (in terms of what kids would think) that you sort of see coming mostly because that's the whole point of the book (and the narrator has already experienced it, so she's telling the story back to you). I used to read a lot of RL Stine and Christopher Pike when I was in middle school/high school, so this was sort of right up my alley.

Anyway, here are some quick thoughts, including spoilers.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

Like I said above, the book was appropriately creepy. Molly is a wonderful heroine who really has to work to fix things and set them right. I liked how Bruchac incorporated her waking thoughts with those of her dreams, and how he used the Native American tales to help tell the story (Molly is Mohawk). There was one part that grossed me out, when the uncle cooks himself and eats his skin off his own bones (yuck!), but I was able to skim that paragraph and get back to the story fairly easily and quickly, and it was the only part that made me really go O_O.  It was a super quick read, too, so I had it finished in about twenty minutes, which was another bonus!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

