Post #40: The Mysterious Benedict Society

Mysteriousbenedictsociety

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

Post number forty is for Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society, which was another required reading for my Fantasy Lit course. I'd originally read (and posted about) this book back in February of 2009 (read my thoughts here), and my thoughts this time didn't really change. While the twists and turns of the story weren't as surprising (especially the revelation about Constance), I still completely and utterly enjoyed this book.

I'm not going to do any spoilers – you can read those in the above-linked post if you're interested – but suffice it to say that I am going to have to re-read the next two books in this series at some point in the future. It's easy to forget just how much you love a book when you don't read it for a while, and that was definitely the case with this book. I love Reynie, Sticky, Kate and Constance (especially Reynie; he's my favorite), and I love the quirks about all the other supporting characters, and just … yes. This is a really fantastic world, with really fantastic characters, and if you haven't read it yet you are seriously missing out. Give it a go; you won't be disappointed!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

