Post #41: Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel

Artemisfowlgn
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel by Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin

Post number forty-one is for the graphic novel version of Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin. This is another required reading title for my Fantasy Lit course, and is something I otherwise would not have read. The book version of this series has never interested me in the slightest (although I admittedly didn’t even know what it was about), and I am not really all that interested in reading the rest of it in GN format, either, even though this book was okay.

Slight spoilers follow.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

I think the GN version was probably more entertaining than the book version would have been, because I really enjoyed the illustrations a lot. It was nice to be able to see exactly what was going on in picture format. The main character isn’t someone I really am all that enamoured with; he’s spoiled, a criminal, and just not all that interesting. I did like how he was able to wiggle his way out of problems (of his own making, mind); he has a good mind that he unfortunately uses for his own gains, although he sort of redeems himself a bit in the end. I also had no idea that this book involved the fantasy realm; it was sort of O_o-inducing to suddenly stumble upon faeries.

The book was an easy read, the illustrations were (as I mentioned) very pretty, but otherwise it was just a sort of “eh” book. Whatever.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

