Post #57: The Greek Gods

Greekgods
The Greek Gods by Evslin, Evslin and Hoopes

Post number fifty-seven is for The Greek Gods by Evslin, Evslin and Hoopes. The book was one I’d initially looked at for my Greek Mythology Reader’s Advisory and discarded, mostly because I found something that I liked better. That being said, this book was fine; it provided a nice overview of the Gods of the Greek Pantheon, as well as some of the Greek Nature Myths, like Prometheus, Pandora, Psyche & Eros, and Orpheus & Eurydice. The book didn’t really provide me with any new information, although the ending to their tale of Psyche and Eros was quite different from the one I’d heard, and the one I’m familiar with.

One thing of note to me as a Percy Jackson fan was the mention of how Arion, Hazel’s magical horse, came into being. Its parents were Demeter and Poseidon, in horse form. :)) See, Poseidon wanted to impress Demeter (so he could have sex with her, of course, as the Gods do), so he created the horse for her. She loved it, but still wouldn’t give in to him. So she changed herself into a horse and ran from him. He followed suit and chased after her. When he caught up with her, he finally got to have sex with her – as a horse. :-P The result was Arion, an immortal horse who runs like the wind. So there’s the story behind Hazel’s horse!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

