REVIEW: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham

fables3Storybook Love (Fables #3)
by Bill Willingham

Vertigo, 2004
[Goodreads]

Previous Installment: Animal Farm

In the Fables’ world, there isn’t a lot of happily-ever-after to go around. As refugees from the lands of make-believe, the Fables have been driven from their storybook realms and forced to blend in with out gritty, mundane reality.

But that doesn’t mean they don’t have any room for romance—or the pain, betrayal and jealous rage that go along with it. In fact, love may be blooming between two of the most hard-bitten, no-nonsense Fables around. But are they destined for happiness— or a quick and untimely death?

mythoughts

I am still not in love with this series, but there were definitely some things about this volume that I truly enjoyed, and the cliffhanger, shocker of an ending will ensure I read the next installment. Which was probably what the author was going for.

Volume Three finds Snow White nearly completely recovered from the events at the Fable Farm. We also get to meet Briar Rose, who is still being affected by that pesky “prick your finger on a spinning wheel” curse. Only she doesn’t need a spinning wheel, but anything sharp. The start of the story finds her in Bigby’s office, where he tells her she’ll need to wear gloves at all times when she’s around mundies, so she doesn’t prick her finger and cause everyone to fall asleep. I was particularly interested in her story – Sleeping Beauty is one of my favorite fairy tales – and loved how her fairy blessings have carried over into exile. Also, the artist has made Briar Rose exceptionally beautiful; she’s probably the prettiest character we’ve met thus far. I enjoyed the out-there plot with the mundy reporter thinking the Fables are all vampires, and Bigby’s handling of the situation. I loved how they woke Briar up from her sleeping curse. And I especially liked the way the artists drew the pages with Charming’s story, in the outline of a shield. I thought that especially was exceedingly well done. I also loved the inclusion of the Lilliputians, and how they’re part of the Fables’ police force. They were too cute. And Bigby’s wolf form reminded me of Sirius Black’s Animagus form in the Harry Potter books, although Sirius wasn’t nearly as large. (He was also drawn in a way that implied how soft to the touch he was, which made me want to pet him. :-P)

While I was expecting Goldilocks to pop back up eventually, I wasn’t expecting her in the very next volume. [SPOILER] Although I have to say that when I saw her, I wasn’t completely shocked that she’d hooked up with Bluebeard. There’s nothing accounting for taste, I guess, and Goldilocks’ paramours are definitely interesting, to say the least. [/SPOILER] The violence in this one was particularly gruesome, especially at the end. And as for the ending of the story, to say I was shocked would be an understatement. I totally didn’t see it coming, and am now worried what it’s going to mean for two of my favorite characters.

I am going to take a break from this series for a bit, I think, although I will eventually read the next one just to see how that ending eventually turns out.

3stars

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

