‘Mark of Athena’ Cover Reveal

So, Rick Riordan’s released the cover for The Mark of Athena, and I’m not quite sure what to think!

That sure looks like Jason vs. Percy, doesn’t it? But Percy’s back in orange, and Jason’s wearing purple? And no Annabeth? I really wanted Annabeth on the cover. :(

Here’s the released synopsis: In a fantastical ship called the ArgoII, seven demigods journey by air across the United States and by sea to Rome on their quest to defeat the earth mother, Gaea. Meanwhile, war is breaking out between the Roman and Greek demigods they left behind, and only Annabeth holds the key to restoring peace.

Disney-Hyperion’s also released the full first chapter, which you can read HERE. Be forewarned, though, that OF COURSE, it ends on a bit of a cliffhanger!

Can you be nervous before a book even comes out? I don’t want the Greeks and Romans to fight! I like both camps!

Is it October yet?

EDIT: Here’s the full synopsis, courtesy of Rick Riordan’s website: Annabeth is terrified. Just when she’s about to be reunited with Percy—after six months of being apart, thanks to Hera—it looks like Camp Jupiter is preparing for war. As Annabeth and her friends Jason, Piper, and Leo fly in on the Argo II, she can’t blame the Roman demigods for thinking the ship is a Greek weapon. With its steaming bronze dragon masthead, Leo’s fantastical creation doesn’t appear friendly. Annabeth hopes that the sight of their praetor Jason on deck will reassure the Romans that the visitors from Camp Half-Blood are coming in peace.

And that’s only one of her worries. In her pocket Annabeth carries a gift from her mother that came with an unnerving demand: Follow the Mark of Athena. Avenge me. Annabeth already feels weighed down by the prophecy that will send seven demigods on a quest to find—and close— the Doors of Death. What more does Athena want from her?

Annabeth’s biggest fear, though, is that Percy might have changed. What if he’s now attached to Roman ways? Does he still need his old friends? As the daughter of the goddess of war and wisdom, Annabeth knows she was born to be a leader, but never again does she want to be without Seaweed Brain by her side.

Narrated by four different demigods, The Mark of Athena is an unforgettable journey across land and sea to Rome, where important discoveries, surprising sacrifices, and unspeakable horrors await. Climb aboard the Argo II, if you dare….

This entry was posted in Cover Reveal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ‘Mark of Athena’ Cover Reveal

  1. I really like this cover, and can’t wait to read the next adventure of Percy Jackson!

  2. jonababez says:

    OMG! I’m so so so shocked and happy at the same time when I saw your post! The cover is fantastic, awesome, and I’m loss of words now! LOL! But I can’t think of how the story will go, so Percy and Jason will fight? Aaarrrgghhh, why oh why??!!

    • Merin says:

      Here’s what he wrote on his blog: “What is the scene on the cover? Is that who you think it is, about to fight?? Can’t tell you, but yes, that is an actual scene from the book, and the meaning will be clear when you read it.”

      And of course that’s totally not helpful. :-P I don’t think they’re actually fighting each other (or at least, I certainly hope not!), more like teaming up to fight … something else? That Mark in the sky, maybe? I don’t know. Why is it not October yet?

      I’d like to think that Percy and Jason can get along fine. Maybe it will be like the start of Percy and Thalia’s relationship, where they were sort of at odds with each other at the start but became really good friends later? I’m hoping that they’ll get along, anyway, because I like them both, although Percy is definitely my favorite. ♥

      • jonababez says:

        I really hope they will not fight! I love them both! But the cover is definitely an actual scene in the book, like the Son of Neptune’s book cover, that was an actual scene, right? Uuugghhh, Riordan is testing our patience! LOL! I’ll definitely choose this book as my most anticipated book on the Waiting on Wednesday meme, do you also participate there?

      • Merin says:

        Yep, the cover for Son of Neptune was Percy on the iceberg holding the Roman standard. I will just continue to hope that Jason and Percy aren’t fighting each other. :) I haven’t done Waiting on Wednesday mostly because I always forget about it, but I am going to try to start doing it. There are lots of books that I’m looking forward to, so it shouldn’t be too hard to come up with something each week!

      • jonababez says:

        Totally!!! It’s really fun to participate in the WoW post and share our most anticipated books, and it’s definitely hard to choose among them! We still have 5 months to wait for the book!

  3. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #5 | Read and Reviewed

  4. Anonymous says:

    Are Percy and Jasons wearing gold masks or is it just me?

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

