Waiting on Wednesday #1

I’ve never done one of these posts before, but I decided to join in on the fun, mostly because there are tons of books I’m looking forward to, and what better way to talk about them? So!

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

My first WoW post is for Libba Bray’s The Diviners (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers):

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.”

When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I got a chance to read the first couple of chapters via the BEA Buzz Book put out by NetGalley, and I was immediately grabbed by Evie’s character. It’s hard to root against a girl who wants more from her life, and who feels smothered in her small town life. Plus, it has just the right mix of history (roaring 1920s!) and paranormal (the ability to learn someone’s secrets by touching an object they’ve touched!). As a huge fan of Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy, I already know how great she is at mixing fantasy with history, and I am definitely looking forward to seeing what she’s come up with.

Release Date: September 18, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #1

  1. Sounds like a good one! I love that it is set in the 1920s!

    My WoW is at http://storybound.blogspot.com/2012/06/waiting-on-wednesday.html

  2. Kelley Lee says:

    Oh, I love Libba Bray. I can’t wait to read this!

    Here is my WoW
    New Follower

    Kelley Lee

    • Merin says:

      I haven’t read any of her books set in current times, but I adore her historical books, so this was a definite must-read for me. :) I’ve followed you back via GFC, in case you don’t see my comment on your blog! :)

  3. Kim J. says:

    Oh that sounds good! I really like the cover. Nice pick (:

    – Kim
    My WoW

  4. kay says:

    How did I not know Libba Bray had a new book coming out?! This will absolutely go on my wishlist, thank you!

  5. jonababez says:

    Sounds fun! I’d like to read it too! ;)

  6. jonababez says:

    Nice to see your first WoW post! ;) Will look forward for your next posts! ;)

  7. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #6 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

