Top Ten Tuesday #1

I’m sort of in a lull regarding the books I’m reading right now (I like them both, but they’re not grabbing hold of me in a way that makes them impossible to put down), so to make sure I have SOME sort of content this week, I decided to participate in my first Top Ten Tuesday post, especially since this list is actually already something I have been putting together in my head. Now it just makes it more official-like. :)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

My Top Ten Summer Reading List

1) The Serpent’s Shadow (Kane Chronicles #3) by Rick Riordan :: I have had this book since it was first released and haven’t been able to get to it yet. I love every. single. thing that Rick Riordan has released for MG readers, and I am sure this will be no exception. Plus I’ve heard that the characters from his Heroes of Olympus series make a cameo appearance, and I can’t wait to see how he did that.

2) Paranormalcy by Kiersten White :: I have heard such good things about this series, namely that it’s all kinds of fun. I bought this quite a while back but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Considering that the third one’s about to come out, I figured I’d better get on it!

3) Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein :: I have had an e-galley of this on my Kindle for a VERY long time, and still haven’t read it. I like to try to get things from NetGalley read prior to their release, but that just didn’t happen with this one. I’ve heard really good things about it, and I’m always a fan of well-done historical fiction, so definitely want to get to this one soon. Plus it will balance out the paranormal reads that populate the rest of this list!

4) Enchanted by Alethea Kontis :: I had this out from the library a few weeks ago, but had to return it because I wasn’t finished and couldn’t renew (too many requests). It didn’t grip me like I wanted it to, but I had just gotten to the point where the plot was starting to come together and things were starting to make sense, so definitely want to get back to it soon.

5) Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare :: I’ve read the first three Mortal Instruments books, but have heard that the Infernal Devices series is actually better. I have had this book since it came out in 2010 and still haven’t read it, so it’s definitely time to rectify that.

6) A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz :: This is a title I’ve been eyeing as a possible purchase for the elementary students I work with, but I don’t want to commit until I’ve actually read it to see if it’s suitable for them. I absolutely adore anything dealing with fairy tales – particularly those compiled by the Grimm Brothers – so this looks right up my alley even if it’s not suitable for my students.

7) Incarnate (New Soul #1) by Jodi Meadows :: Another one that I bought ages ago, mostly because I didn’t want to wait for my local library to purchase it, and then never actually read it. Oops. It looks really interesting, particularly since I haven’t read a ton of books dealing with the idea of reincarnation or souls.

8) Divergent by Veronica Roth :: I am actually attending a conference next month in Florida in which Veronica Roth is a presenter/participant, so figured I’d probably better get caught up on her books. Of course, the conference is in something like three weeks, and I haven’t even started. I also keep hearing so much about Divergent/Insurgent that I figured it’s time I get with the times.

9) Fury by Shirley Marr :: I actually had to jump through hoops to get my hands on a copy of this book (a friend who lives in Australia finally bought it and mailed it to me), and it’s another one that I’ve heard tons of great things about, but still haven’t read. If I don’t get to any of the other books on this list – and I sure hope I’ll get to them all! – I really really want to read this one.

10) Unearthly by Cynthia Hand :: I have tried my fair share of angel books and been disappointed, but I’ve heard that this one is one of the best out there. It’s been sitting in my to-read pile (which is reaching dangerous heights) for several months now, but I am definitely hoping to get to it soon.

What’s on your Top Ten list this week? Please link me, and I’ll make sure I stop by and leave a comment!

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday #1

  1. Brittany S says:

    I’m so anxious to read Infernal Devices and Mortal Instruments!

    • Merin says:

      I still need to read #4 and #5 of the Mortal Instruments series, but need to re-read 2-3 first because I can’t really remember what happened. At least with the Infernal Devices I don’t have to remember what happened previously!

  2. Belle says:

    I hope you post something about your conference with Veronica Roth. I must give that Divergent series a go!

    • Merin says:

      It’s actually a Harry Potter conference, and she’s just one of the guests on their Quill Track. There are all kinds of authors going, but she’s on one of the panels that I’m really hoping to attend. If I can be organized enough to take notes, I will definitely share!

  3. Great list. I like Rick Riordan’s writing too! And Divergent would be on my list too!

  4. Grad Student says:

    Paranormalcy is a perfect summer read- it is silly and funny. I love Tasey! :-). Also, I have had the same experience with angel books (GAH FALLEN GAH) but Unearthly was much better. And you get to meet Tucker, who is a dreamboat.
    Happy summer reading!

    • Merin says:

      My unfortunate angel book was Hush, Hush. I think everyone who’s read any of them, though, can share a horror story or two! I don’t know what it is about the genre that’s so hard for authors. And I am definitely looking forward to Paranormalcy!

  5. Love your list Merin! I too really want to read Code Name Verity based on all the amazing things I’ve heard about it. Also, Enchanted looks right up my alley as does A Tale Dark and Grimm. I will also say that I LOVE Clockwork Angel and only liked Mortal Instruments. I just bought Clockwork Prince but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. And Divergent is pretty good.

    • Merin says:

      Thanks, Lauren! I have heard that ID is better than MI, and while I did enjoy the MI books I wouldn’t call them favorites. Enchanted started a bit slowly, and I was totally confused initially, as I think she tried to put too many fairy tales into one story. But I know you love your fairy tales, so I’d definitely recommend it and A Tale Dark and Grimm!

  6. The Infernal Devices is my favorite YA series. I hope that you have the chance to read Clockwork Angel; I absolutely loved the characters and the setting.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I hope you enjoy Paranormalcy & Clockwork Angel! (well, and all the others too) I still need to read The Serpent’s Shadow. It’s on my shelf and I WILL get to it soon.

    Happy Reading!

  8. I haven’t read any of these either. Sounds like you have a great summer of reading planned :)

  9. I had Divergent since last summer and only got around to reading it about a month or two ago. And SERIOUSLY, I kick myself for having waited so long! It’s REALLY good! :) Clockwork Angel is really good too! I read the first, City of Bones, AGES ago but don’t really remember it.. LOVED C.A. :)

    Thanks for stopping by my Top 10 Tuesday!

    Michele | Just a Lil Lost

    • Merin says:

      I’ve read City of Bones twice (once on my own, and once because it was a requirement for my YA Fantasy Lit course in Grad school), but have only read the other two once, and can’t really remember what happens at all. I’m going to need to reread 2 and 3 before I can read 4 and 5 (which I own), but don’t want to mess with that right now. But with Clockwork Angel I wouldn’t need to read anything first, plus I’ve heard such good things about that series that I can’t wait to catch up with everyone else. :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #8 | Read and Reviewed

  11. I loved Divergent and Code Name Verity is one I plan on reading too. Hope you get to all your summer reads and enjoy them all :-)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

