Waiting on Wednesday #5

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Debutantes by Cora Harrison (Pan Macmillan Children’s):

It’s 1923 and London is a whirl of jazz, dancing and parties. Violet, Daisy, Poppy and Rose Derrington are desperate to be part of it, but stuck in an enormous crumbling house in the country, with no money and no fashionable dresses, the excitement seems a lifetime away.

Luckily the girls each have a plan for escaping their humdrum country life: Rose wants to be a novelist, Poppy a jazz musician and Daisy a famous film director. Violet, however, has only one ambition: to become the perfect Debutante, so that she can go to London and catch the eye of Prince George, the most eligible bachelor in the country.

But a house as big and old as Beech Grove Manor hides many secrets, and Daisy is about to uncover one so huge it could ruin all their plans—ruin everything—forever.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

First of all, look at that gorgeous cover! Seriously, they’ve outdone themselves with this one. It is SO pretty! *_* Secondly, I really enjoy historical YAs, and this one seems right up my alley. Jazz, dancing and parties! Girls who want to be part of it but don’t have the money or means, but have plans and dreams they’re reaching for! And the whole idea of a secret that can destroy everything they want is something that definitely speaks to me, as I like a bit of mystery with my historicals. And did I mention the cover?

Release Date: August 2, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #5

  1. Great pick Merin! I haven’t heard of this one but it looks really good! I’ll definitely be adding it to my TBR-Shelf!(:

  2. This one looks good Merin!

  3. opheliasgone says:

    I love historical fiction.

  4. This book had me at the very first sentence, set in London? I’m totally there! I love historical YA books as well, this one has definitely been added to my list.

  5. This does sound interesting!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Dani
    http://paulettespapers.com/?p=2200

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

