Waiting on Wednesday #8

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress (Dial Books for Young Readers):

Be your own hero.

An action-packed tale of gowns, guys, guns–and the heroines who use them all.

Set in Edwardian London, “The Friday Society” follows the stories of three very intelligent and talented young women, all of whom are assistants to powerful men: Cora, lab assistant; Michiko, Japanese fight assistant; and Nellie, magician’s assistant. The three young women’s lives become inexorably intertwined after a chance meeting at a ball that ends with the discovery of a murdered mystery man.

It’s up to these three, in their own charming but bold way, to solve the murder–and the crimes they believe may be connected to it–without calling “too” much attention to themselves.

Told with Adrienne Kress’s sharp wit and a great deal of irreverence, this Steampunk whodunit introduces three unforgettable and very ladylike–well, relatively ladylike–heroines poised for more dangerous adventures.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I am a sucker for books with strong female characters, and this book seems to have three of them. I am also a fan of well-done historical fiction, and while I can’t say for sure that this is indeed well-done, the premise, with the three different girls and their backgrounds, sounds like it would be really interesting to me. I also love a good mystery, and while it’s probably not really historically correct, I tend to like books involving period girls solving crimes normally left to the men. Plus, don’t the girls’ jobs just sound awesome to read about?

Release Date: December 6, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #8

  1. Katja says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book before, but it sounds like something I’d enjoy. It’s unusual to have a past setting being Edwardian London rather than Victorian, I wouldn’t mind reading it just to see what that’s like :)
    Katja @ YA’s the Word

    • Merin says:

      The time period is definitely part of the draw for me. I am curious as to how they’ll mix in the Steampunk as well.

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  2. Krystianna says:

    Great pick! I recently saw this on Goodreads. It sounds pretty good & I like the cover. It’s definitely not like anything I’ve ever read before!

  3. Briana says:

    I was lucky enough to be able to see an ARC of this, and it is AWESOME! The three girls all have great, distinct personalities, and I think the author made the whole historically inaccurate kick-ass girls thing work. The mystery is also great. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    • Merin says:

      Oh, I’m really glad to hear this! I can normally set aside my disbelief when girls dress as boys and escape their chaperones, etc., so that didn’t concern me so much, but I am really happy to hear that it’s as good as I’m thinking it is. :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. This one looks so good, Merin! Great pick!

  5. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #12 –

  6. Adriana says:

    These girls look so badass. Love this. There can never be enough strong girl protagonists.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

