Waiting on Wednesday #9

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for The Sweetest Spell by Suzanne Selfors (Walker and Company):

Emmeline Thistle, a dirt-scratcher’s daughter, has escaped death twice-first, on the night she was born, and second, on the day her entire village was swept away by flood. Left with nothing and no one, Emmeline discovers her rare and mysterious ability-she can churn milk into chocolate, a delicacy more precious than gold.

Suddenly, the most unwanted girl in Anglund finds herself desired by all. But Emmeline only wants one-Owen Oak, a dairyman’s son, whose slow smiles and lingering glances once tempted her to believe she might someday be loved for herself. But others will stop at nothing to use her gift for their own gains-no matter what the cost to Emmeline.

Magic and romance entwine in this fantastical world where true love and chocolate conquer all.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

This seems very fairy tale-ish, and I am a big fan of fairy tales. The magical gift, the unique world, and the girl who wants to be loved for who she is and not what she can do. The summary on Goodreads – this one came from NetGalley and I had to REALLY resist requesting it, because I already have too much to read and am so far behind on my reviews – mentions that she’s born with a physical disability as well, which is something that isn’t really touched on in most YA books, and I’m intrigued to see what Selfors has done with it. Mostly this just has a really romantic, magical quality to the blurb, and the girly, happily-ever-after part of me can’t help but be drawn to that.

Release Date: August 21, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #9

  1. This sounds really interesting! And definitely fairy-tale like – almost sounds like Rumpelstilskin. I also adore fairy-tale inspired books. I’ll have to keep a lookout for this!

    • Merin says:

      Her gift is kind of Rumpelstiltskin-ish, isn’t it? It just has a very dreamy, magical quality to it that I can’t help but want to read.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! :)

  2. After I read the description, all I could think was, “That sounds utterly lovely” :)

    Check out what I’m Waiting on and enter for a gift card giveaway :)

  3. Kate says:

    Great choice I can’t wait for this one either!

    My WOW and international giveaway

  4. Krystianna says:

    Great pick! I’ve heard quite a lot about this one. it sounds really good. :)

    • Merin says:

      The summary on Goodreads really doesn’t seem to do it justice, but I still want to read it. I hope it’s good!

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  5. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #12 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

