Waiting on Wednesday #11

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Envy by Elizabeth Miles (Simon Pulse):

The Furies are back in the second book of a chilling paranormal trilogy where revenge rules the day—and “sorry” isn’t going to cut it. Spring is coming, and the ice is slowly melting in Ascension…revealing the secrets buried beneath.

Emily Winters knows the Furies have roots in Ascension, Maine—but she’s about to discover that they’re deeper than she ever imagined. With the help of her new friend Drea, she vows to dig them out. But it’s hard to focus when she’s desperate to make up with JD, and to figure out why Crow, a mysterious Ascension High dropout, seems to be shadowing her.

Meanwhile, new girl Skylar McVoy is determined to leave her own dark past behind. So she’s thrilled when popular Gabby takes her under her wing, and the stunning and sophisticated Meg offers to give her a major makeover. But everyone knows what happens to the vainest girl of all…

It’s tempting to be naughty. But beware: the Furies are always watching, and their power grows stronger by the day.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I didn’t love the first book in this series, Fury, but I was intrigued enough by where the plot was going that I definitely want to read the sequel. I look forward to seeing how Em is going to outsmart the Furies, and eventually get them to leave Ascension and stop punishing its teenage population. Even though I didn’t always like Em in Fury, I still hope that she and JD can manage to solve their differences (which the Furies caused in the first place) and manage to get together, as I enjoyed their friendship in the first book and would like to see more of it. I also think the Furies have no business punishing people when they themselves are just as guilty of doing awful things. Don’t throw stones at glass houses, etc. My one complaint about this is that I HATE that Simon Pulse decided to change the US covers; I really loved the original cover for Fury, and am disappointed that they won’t match. Why do publishers decide to do this? Do they not realize how anal people are about having matching covers on their bookshelves? Now the only way to get the same style cover is to purchase the UK version.

Release Date: September 4, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #11

  1. jonababez says:

    Love this cover! So gorgeous! I haven’t read the first book because of the mixed reviews, but I might try. I’ll also check the new cover of it. LOL!

  2. happy the uk kept the orginal scheme . may be you should try bookdepo
    gr8 wow

    my wow

    • Merin says:

      If I were purchasing it myself I would definitely look around for the UK version. But it will be a library pick for me, since I didn’t love the first one. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    I haven’t heard of this book or its prequel, but it sounds good.

    Interesting pick! :)

    • Merin says:

      Thanks! Fury was slow to get started, and I was annoyed quite a bit with the characters, but the ending was a lot better, so I’m interested enough to see what happens next.

      • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

        Ahhh, well I might skip reading Fury then even if the ending was better, since annoying characters really grate onto my nerves! haha. :) Hope you enjoy the next book.

  4. Jade @ Ink Scratchers says:

    I didn’t enjoy Fury so I’ll only read this book if I can get it from the library or something, still, hope you enjoy it when you get it :D

    Here’s what i’m waiting on

    and check out my awesome YA giveaway Here

    • Merin says:

      I’m hoping to get it from the library as well. That’s how I got hold of Fury; I didn’t want to fork out the money for a book that had gotten such mixed reviews. Hopefully my library decides to purchase it!

  5. I have not heard of this book but I will be checking it out! Thanks for spotlighting it! Check out my WoW!

  6. I’ve seen Fury around but never really read the summary or a review so this is my first time to read both book descriptions and they sound pretty cool. I’ll have to read Fury first, of course, but I would love to read this one as well. Great pick!
    Come check out my WOW post.

  7. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #14 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

