Waiting on Wednesday #12

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr (HarperCollins):

In a city of daimons, rigid class lines separate the powerful from the power-hungry. And at the heart of The City is the Carnival of Souls, where both murder and pleasure are offered up for sale. Once in a generation, the carnival hosts a deadly competition that allows every daimon a chance to join the ruling elite. Without the competition, Aya and Kaleb would both face bleak futures–if for different reasons. For each of them, fighting to the death is the only way to try to live.

All Mallory knows of The City is that her father–and every other witch there–fled it for a life in exile in the human world. Instead of a typical teenage life full of friends and maybe even a little romance, Mallory scans quiet streets for threats, hides herself away, and trains to be lethal. She knows it’s only a matter of time until a daimon finds her and her father, so she readies herself for the inevitable. While Mallory possesses little knowledge of The City, every inhabitant of The City knows of her. There are plans for Mallory, and soon she, too, will be drawn into the decadence and danger that is the Carnival of Souls.

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I have actually never read a book by Melissa Marr, even though I’ve heard good things about her. I own Wicked Lovely – I got it for $1 from a used book sale – but haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet.  This book seems quite different from that series, though, in that it has a severe lack of faeries. What intrigues me is the world described in the synopsis; one of chaos, where those with magic were forced to flee and are in turn hunted down by the daimons who apparently fight in this Carnival of Souls. And doesn’t that name sound creepy on its own? I am really looking forward to learning more about the characters described in the synopsis and the world in which they live; it doesn’t sound like a very happy place, does it? I’ve actually already requested this from the library and am number three (of eight) on the list. I hope the library gets the book soon after its release!

Release Date: September 4, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #12

  1. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Ooooooh. *Cue squees*

    It’s dark and delicious and maybe not perfect, but this book has a lot to stand for on it’s own to show to the world that *hopefully* it shall be the start of a brilliant series. I loved it and I hope you do too! :)

    Great pick.

    Check out my Wow!

  2. Adriana says:

    Dang! I read the title through a booming voice CARNIVAL OF…SOULS! lol.
    The daimons part reminds me of His Dark Materials.
    It actually sounds pretty good and hopefully you’ll like it as much as Livvy does.

  3. Gina says:

    Okay, this book is seriously going to be going on my shelf when it releases. I love love love Marr’s work. Everything she does is fantastic and I am sure this one is going to be as well. Thanks for letting me know. Happy reading! Come check out my WoW!

  4. jonababez says:

    Same here, I want to read her books for so long, I think I might start with this one too. :)

  5. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #15 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

