Top Ten Tuesday #4

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s topic is the Top Ten  Books on Your Fall TBR List. I am assuming these are books that haven’t been released yet, or at least, that’s what I did!

1) The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3) by Rick Riordan

I have wanted this book since I finished reading The Son of Neptune, all the way back in October of 2011. I want more Percy, more Annabeth, more Jason! I want a Percy/Annabeth reunion! I want to see more of the gods and goddesses! I am SO EXCITED that we only have a little under a month until its release! It’s been preordered from Amazon for months.

RELEASE DATE: October 2, 2012

2) Scorch (Croak #2) by Gina Damico

I adored Croak and am bouncing with excitement to read this next installment. I can’t wait to see what Lex and company get up to in this book, and am definitely interested in seeing the ways her uncle keeps her and Driggs from making out all over the place. :D I’m number one on my local library’s list to read it, so can’t wait until they get it in!

RELEASE DATE: September 25, 2012

3) The Diviners by Libba Bray

I loved Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy, even though the ending broke my heart. I have gotten a chance to read the first couple of chapters of this book via the BEA Buzz Books released by NetGalley, and also got to listen to Libba Bray herself read the first chapter, and my interest was immediately piqued. Evie, the main character, sounds like a fantastic narrator full of bounce and life, and I look forward to reading about her adventures.

RELEASE DATE: September 18, 2012

4) Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

I actually have an e-galley of this, but haven’t had a chance to read it. Sarah’s first series, The Demon’s Lexicon, really didn’t interest me, but this one has intrigued me since I first heard about it. I love how different the cover is from everything else out there, and the synopsis provides just the right amount of intrigue. It doesn’t hurt that I follow the author’s LiveJournal and she is hysterically funny. I am really looking forward to diving into this one.

RELEASE DATE: September 11, 2012

5) Crewel by Gennifer Albin

This is probably my most anticipated YA release of the Fall. When I first started seeing reviews, it was nothing but praise for the world-building and the idea behind the book. All of this did nothing but fuel my desire to read it. Thankfully, Macmillan was nice enough to grant my request for an e-galley on NetGalley, and I am super excited to dive into it. I am hoping to get to this one soon!

RELEASE DATE: October 16, 2012

6) Black City by Elizabeth Richards

I am honestly not sure what it is exactly about this book that calls out to me, but whatever it is, it did it well enough that I already ordered a copy from Amazon. I have a thing for forbidden love, and that’s what this book’s synopsis screams out. I just hope it lives up to what I’ve built it up to in my mind!

RELEASE DATE: November 13, 2012

7) Renegade by J.A. Souders

Here we go with that forbidden romance again! I’m also intrigued by the fact that the narrator’s been lied to her entire life. Her world sounds unique and different, and like nothing I’ve read as of yet. I like the name of her world – Elysium, or Heaven, or (in the Percy Jackson books), where heroes go after they die. I’m interested to see what it is exactly that her mother has over her, the “ticking time bomb” mentioned in the synopsis. It sounds like a really edge-of-your-seat read, and I haven’t had one of those in a while.

RELEASE DATE: November 13, 2012

8) Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson

I love anything that has to do with Mythology, and I love that this one went the way of Norse myths instead of the typical Greek (not that I don’t love Greek Mythology!). Any book that has the main character becoming a female warrior has to be good, right? I mean, she’s a Valkyrie! Sign me up! The semi-infuriating love interest doesn’t hurt, either. It’s not a relationship I’d want for myself, but it is one I tend to enjoy reading.

RELEASE DATE: October 9, 2012

9) The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

This book screams “kick-ass heroine”. I mean, she’s a pirate who wants to captain her own ship, so she defies her family and refuses to marry her fiance. The whole idea of this book sounds amazing, and so different from anything I’ve ever read! (I also have a Thing for pirates; blame Johnny Depp.) I have a feeling she and her assassin are going to wind up having feelings for each other, which is further going to complicate the whole marriage thing. I also have an e-galley of this, and really REALLY can’t wait to read it!

RELEASE DATE: October 2, 2012

10) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Okay, confession time: I’ve only ever read one book by Maggie Stiefvater, and that was Lament, which I absolutely loved. I’ve heard mixed things about the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, and they were enough to keep me from reading them. (Plus I’m sort of over the werewolf/vampire thing.) But this book calls out to me, and I’m not exactly sure why. Again, I think that it’s just that it sounds different – paranormal in a different way maybe? – and I am always up for anything different. Plus I feel like I really need to read more Stiefvater, and this one seems like a good place to start! I have it on request at the library and am definitely looking forward to getting it in my hands.

RELEASE DATE: September 18, 2012

So those are my Top Ten picks for this week! What are yours? Please link me up!

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday #4

  1. Black City sounds intriguing! Going to have to check that one out! Definitely want to read The Raven Boys as well.

  2. Melody says:

    Unspoken and Valkyrie Rising were not on my radar but they are now! Thanks!

  3. I’m lucky enough to have Diviners awaiting me!

    Here’s my Top Ten Books I’m Awaiting This Fall. I hope you will stop by!

  4. I’m excited about Valkyrie Rising, I’ve seen it on a couple lists now! These lists are making my TBR pile even larger….

  5. This is the first I am hearing abour renegade. It looks very intersting. I will have to add it to my to-read list. I can’t wait to read Valkyrie Rising myself.

    Happy reading!

  6. I love The Mark of Athena cover. Mesmerizing.

  7. I love the books you chose for your list! It’s a pretty awesome set of titles, and I know I’m looking forward to a lot of them as well.

    I’ve actually recently read The Raven Boys and I really liked it! It’s definitely different, but it’s got Maggie’s signature style incorporated in it, so I hope you enjoy.

  8. Lucy says:

    Fantastic list! Crewel, Black City and Renegade all look good to me. And, I wasn’t sure about The Raven Boys but the reviews have been coming in strong so I may have to try it out. I’ve just starting hearing about The Assassin’s Curse and it really does look intriguing. Hope all your fall reads are winners!

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #16 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

