Waiting on Wednesday #17

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson (HarperTeen):

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she’ll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she’s there.

What Ellie doesn’t anticipate is Graham’s infuriating best friend, Tuck, tagging along for the trip. Nor did she imagine boys going missing amid rumors of impossible kidnappings. Least of all does she expect something powerful and ancient to awaken in her and that strange whispers would urge Ellie to claim her place among mythological warriors. Instead of peace and quiet, there’s suddenly a lot for a girl from L.A. to handle on a summer sojourn in Norway! And when Graham vanishes, it’s up to Ellie—and the ever-sarcastic, if undeniably alluring Tuck—to uncover the truth about all the disappearances and thwart the nefarious plan behind them.

Deadly legends, hidden identities, and tentative romance swirl together in one girl’s unexpectedly-epic coming of age. [Goodreads]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Okay, admittedly all anyone has to do is insert the word “mythology” into a book’s summary and my interest is immediately piqued. It’s a serious character flaw for me personally, but I can’t help my love of those myths and the different ways authors incorporate the old stories into current time periods. I also love the idea of a girl having Valkyrie blood in her; that sort of promises that she’ll be pretty kick-ass and awesome, right? The irritating potential love interest also gets points from me, even though I wouldn’t want said love interest in my own life. Plus she’s going to Norway! I can’t wait to see how the author details her surroundings; I hope she does it well, as I’ve never been to Norway and would love to live vicariously through Ellie.

Release Date: October 9, 2012

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Please link me!

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #17

  1. This could be very interesting. I’ve seen it around and I’ve had my eye on it for a while. Thanks so much for sharing, though. Have a great day!

    My WoW,
    Kathy Ann

  2. I am also waiting for this one. It’s endorsed by some of my favorite authors which does intrigue me. Plus, I haven’t read nearly enough about Norse gods/mythology.

    Here’s my WoW

    Thanks for sharing!

    ~Danica Page @Taking it One Page at a Time

  3. I can’t wait to read this book! its definitely high up on my wish list.

    My WoW

  4. This book has been on my wishlist for a VERY long time. I can hardly wait for next week to get here so I can buy a copy of this book. Happy reading! :)

    http://theparanormalpalace.blogspot.com/2012/10/waiting-on-wednesday-1.html

  5. I love the cover for this one and the buzz for the book has been pretty positive. I’m also a big mythology fan so this one is on my TBR pile for when it comes out. ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday post you can do so here. :)

  6. I already have it on my to-read list and I can’t wait to give it a try. It definitely sound very interesting! Great pick! I hope you enjoy it when it comes out!
    Come check out my WOW post.

  7. LS Murphy says:

    Great pick. This book looks so good.

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #19 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

