REVIEW: The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3) by Rick Riordan
Disney-Hyperion, 2012
[Goodreads] [Amazon]

Previous Installment: The Son of Neptune

Annabeth is terrified. Just when she’s about to be reunited with Percy—after six months of being apart, thanks to Hera—it looks like Camp Jupiter is preparing for war. As Annabeth and her friends Jason, Piper, and Leo fly in on the Argo II, she can’t blame the Roman demigods for thinking the ship is a Greek weapon. With its steaming bronze dragon masthead, Leo’s fantastical creation doesn’t appear friendly. Annabeth hopes that the sight of their praetor Jason on deck will reassure the Romans that the visitors from Camp Half-Blood are coming in peace.

And that’s only one of her worries. In her pocket Annabeth carries a gift from her mother that came with an unnerving demand: Follow the Mark of Athena. Avenge me. Annabeth already feels weighed down by the prophecy that will send seven demigods on a quest to find—and close— the Doors of Death. What more does Athena want from her?

Annabeth’s biggest fear, though, is that Percy might have changed. What if he’s now attached to Roman ways? Does he still need his old friends? As the daughter of the goddess of war and wisdom, Annabeth knows she was born to be a leader, but never again does she want to be without Seaweed Brain by her side.

mythoughts

Hi. My name is Merin, and I am a Percy Jackson addict.

I love Percy the way a mother loves her child. I am blind to his faults, and adore him even when he’s being a sarcastic pain in the ass. My feelings for him are such that I am physically incapable of giving this book anything less than five stars. Even though Percy isn’t the main point of view character he was in his title series, these books are what they are because of him, and his involvement makes it nearly impossible for me to be objective.

That being said? This book is absolutely fabulous.

The elements that made the previous installments so great are ever-present in The Mark of Athena. You still have the humor, the action, and the emotional journeys of the characters. And most of all, you still have Percy being Percy. Except this is a more mature, more tested, more grown up Percy. He’s still hilarious, still the character who says things he shouldn’t. But he’s also the guy who is totally in love with Annabeth, and their relationship is what’s really at the heart of this book. Yes, they’re trying to figure out how to keep Gaea from waking, and they’re going to have to reunite the Greek and Roman camps. But what the previous two books have taught us is that their feelings for each other – their inability to live without the other – have created what is probably the best “One True Pair” of all time. NO ONE will ever be able to compare to Percy and Annabeth, and that’s saying something when you consider that they’re not even seventeen yet.

“Yeah,” Percy said. “I learned a long time ago: Never bet against Annabeth.” – 53%

Of course, I can wax poetically about how awesome Percy and Annabeth are together until the end of days, and it still will only encompass part of what made this book so fantastic. The truth is, Annabeth ROCKS this book. She is tough, headstrong, and stubborn, and while she is confronted with some very serious weaknesses, she never gives up, even when things are going against her. Honestly, if you have ANYTHING bad to say about Annabeth after reading this book, please do it elsewhere, because I will be like Octavian in that dock scene; I will be unable to hear you over the wax in my ears. I don’t know what the next book is going to bring for Annabeth and Percy, but I have faith that they will be able to overcome whatever it is just because they are together, and as Annabeth said in this book, being with Percy always makes her feel braver. And she’s definitely going to need a whole lot of that.

Now, just so this doesn’t dissolve into an Annabeth and Percy lovefest, here were some other things I loved about this book. The return of the “dam” joke. The Jason/Percy bromance; I really think these two can be best buds forever. Leo being absolutely kick-ass, and the way he felt like an outsider and became such an integral part of the quest. Piper’s brief moments of being awesome (I wish there was more of this and less of her waxing on about Jason). The Hazel and Leo backstory. Jason and Percy working together. The glimpses of the gods and goddesses. Aphrodite’s tea party. The ever-present humor interspersed with all the action and adventure. The way that all seven demigods have realized that they can’t do this alone and are going to have to work together. The way Riordan combined the Greek and Roman stories together. Reyna. The scene where Annabeth drops her dagger and Percy is awesome. Annabeth’s ability to face her worst fear. The Percy/Annabeth reunion scene. All of the Annabeth backstory, which answered nearly every single question I had about her. All of the absolutely hilarious lines.

To sum up: this book was everything I wanted it to be, and more. I love that we got an Annabeth point of view, and I absolutely adored her voice. There were lots of achy-breaky moments in this book, but it just made everything seem more realistic, and it hurt in the good way. Be forewarned, though, that if you read this book, you’re going to want the next one immediately. My only complaint is that we’re going to have to wait another year to learn what happens next! I’m definitely starting the countdown for The House of Hades. How about you?

5stars

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to REVIEW: The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

  1. jonababez says:

    Great review!!!! I’m also done reading it, and also posted my review on goodreads, I’ll put it in my blog later. Your review is way better than mine!haha!

    I also like the bromance between Percy and Jason, so cool! And Leo is so awesome, I’m afraid there’ll be more for him.

    • Merin says:

      I’m really hoping that Leo will wind up having a higher opinion of himself. Right now he’s very down on his abilities and how he fits in with everyone else. I hope he comes to realize that without him they won’t be able to succeed! And I loved the last line, about how he would design something to make sure Percy and Annabeth came back to them. He’s such a strong guy and doesn’t even realize it! And I’m glad that Percy and Jason get along. I was hoping they would!

      And thanks! It’s hard to review these books because I don’t want to give anything away!

  2. Adriana says:

    When I saw the review of Mark of Athena on my e-mail I started getting teary eyed. I don’t think any series could make me more happy that has Percy. I wasn’t so pleased with the last book which was unfortunate. I am DYING to read about the reunion and OH MY GOD! Please let me read about that bromance because I want it. But then the cover makes no sense. Ugh. There is so much want in me now to get this book. It’s unbelievable. Fantastic review.

    • Merin says:

      Oh, see, I LOVED Son of Neptune. It was Percy at his finest, imo, and I loved how Hera was unable to make him forget Annabeth. True love at its finest!

      The cover is a bit unfortunate, I think. That is one small tiny scene in the book (chapter five or six, if I’m remembering correctly) and really not an accurate picture of the book as a whole. It would have been much more fitting for it to have Annabeth on the cover, because this is honestly her book and her story. And I loved every second of it!

      I’m glad you liked my review! :)

  3. Thank you for adding me! I have never read the Percy Jackson series I just saw the movie..I need to pick them up :) I am a new follower via wordpress..

    • Merin says:

      I enjoyed the movie, but the book is SO much better! I’d definitely recommend them. Percy is my favorite all-time fictional narrator. ♥

  4. mmichelle says:

    I haven’t read The Mark of Athena yet and it is KILLING ME. I stupidly decided I wanted to reread all of PJATO aaaand the first two Heroes of Olympus books before reading this one, which seemed like a good idea back in August, before I started grad school. My YA Lit class this semester has an insane amount of reading and so my PJ reread is currently stalled – I reread The Lightning Thief and then had to stop. But I’m hoping I will have more time next month! I had to do a book trailer & “if you liked this…” list for my YA Lit class that was due last week and I did The Lost Hero, which was awesome because I learned that half of my class loves Percy Jackson, but sad because it made me just want to sit down and read Percy Jackson all day. Anyway, this review has made me even more excited to read it!!!!

    • Merin says:

      I played with the idea of rereading them, but just didn’t have the time. Maybe I’ll do it before The House of Hades is released. I’d definitely at least like to re-read Battle of the Labyrinth, because if I’m remembering correctly there was an awful lot of foreshadowing in that one that seems to pertain to this book in particular, and I’d like to see what I didn’t remember.

      And I did a “If You Like Greek Mythology”-themed Reader’s Advisory for my Fantasy Lit course! And yes, Percy was definitely on that list. :)

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #7: TTT Rewind –

  6. Jess battle says:

    I absolutely adore percy jackson its my life, i bought the new book(the mark of athena) on the second of october when it came out, i thought it was great i was not expecting the ending he wrote and i hope that percy and Annabeth escape from tartus i have a feeling that they won’t escape unless one dies, and i don’t want either of them to die they only just got back together

  7. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #19 –

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Books Read in 2012 [11] –

  9. Pingback: REVIEW: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

