Top Ten Tuesday #7: TTT Rewind

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

I haven’t been participating in Top Ten Tuesday for very long, and tend to skip those posts I can’t think of responses to, so there are TONS of TTT topics I haven’t covered. I went back pretty far for this choice, though, all the way back to March 2011. So today I am bringing you The Top Ten Books I Just HAD to Buy … But Are Still Sitting on My Bookshelf. I actually have way more than ten of these, but I’m going to stick to books bought since January.

1) The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

Look, all you need to do is look at my review for The Mark of Athena to see how much I fangirl Rick Riordan’s MG novels. While I don’t love The Kane Chronicles as much as the Percy Jackson books, I still really enjoyed The Red Pyramid and The Throne of Fire. In fact, I enjoyed them so much that I rushed out and bought The Serpent’s Shadow on its release date, and then proceeded to add it to my to-read pile, which is reaching dangerous heights in my bedroom. Now that I’m going to have a year-long wait for The House of Hades, I’m glad I’ll have some Riordan to tide me over until I get to read more Percy.

2) Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

I heard lots and lots of praise for this book via my Goodreads friends when the third one was released, and since I hadn’t read Hex Hall, I immediately went to Amazon and bought it. Then it arrived at my house, I removed it from the box, and added it to that same TBR pile in my bedroom. I still really want to read it, and am hoping to get to it soon. But when you keep asking for books from NetGalley and get approved, those kind of have to take priority, which is why all of the books on this list are still on this list. :-P

3) Books 3 – 6 of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott

I really enjoyed the first book, and have subsequently purchased the next five on their release dates. However, I stalled out with the second book – it took me over a year to get it read – and I was really rather unimpressed with it once I did actually finish it. So now I have the next four books just sitting there looking at me, and I am in no hurry to get to them. I don’t like where the story seems to be heading in terms of the character development, and am not sure I actually WANT to pick up the third book. But since I own all of them through book six, I DO know that I will be purchasing the seventh one, just so I can have the complete set on my shelves. Yes, I know, this is probably dumb since I don’t know if I’ll actually read them, but what can I say? I’m a tad anal about my bookshelves.

4) Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Okay, this was an impulse buy based solely on the cover. I saw it on my Goodreads friends feed, saw some good reviews, and kept stalking my library to see if they’d purchase it so I could check it out from them and save some money. But after a couple of months, I finally gave up, and just decided to buy it. So now it, too, is in that same TBR pile as the first two books on this list, collecting dust and not getting read. And – of course! – my library now has it available. Go figure.

5) Everneath by Brodi Ashton

I am a sucker for anything that incorporates Greek Mythology into the modern world, and when I heard that this was a retelling of the Hades and Persephone myth – which is probably my favorite Greek myth – I knew I had to buy this book. However, even my love for the myth didn’t make me pick this book up straight away, so instead it, too, is languishing with all the other books I’ve bought this year and haven’t yet read.

6) The Catastrophic History of You And Me by Jess Rothenberg

This is another “my library won’t purchase this in a timely manner, so I’ll just buy it myself” book. And, just like with Incarnate, the library now has it available. However, I’m not too upset at this one, because many of my blogger friends have really enjoyed it, and I’m sure I’ll be no different. Also? The cover is really pretty, and I love how it looks on my shelf. It’s hard to begrudge a book that looks pretty on your shelves!

7) Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

I love retellings, and based on this book’s summary, this had all the makings of a great one. And then the reviews started to roll in, and I wanted the book even more. So I actually preordered this one on Amazon so it would get to me on its release date, and then never read it. I really WANT to read it, though, and am hoping to find time soon, once I make a decent dent in my e-galleys. A glowing review from one of my Goodreads friends not that long ago has ensured that I’ll probably love it once I do actually get to it.

8) The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart

I LOVED The Mysterious Benedict Society books, so when I heard that Trenton Lee Stewart was releasing a prequel, I pounced on its Amazon listing and preordered it immediately. I’m not sure how this one will compare to the other three books, though, since it’s going to be from Mr. Benedict’s point of view and the others were from Reynie’s point of view, which is part of what made those books so awesome. But I am looking forward to reading it whenever I finally get around to it.

9) The Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan

If you put Rick Riordan’s name on something, you’re basically guaranteeing that I will purchase it. This was supposed to tide me over until The Mark of Athena was released, but I never actually got around to reading it. Now I’m glad, particularly since there’s a classic first-person Percy POV story included, and after the ending of The Mark of Athena, I think I’m going to need that to soothe my soul. Plus it’s sure to include some Percy snark, and also includes Hermes, who is one of my favorite gods from the books. Win-win, all around!

10) Book #10 of The 39 Clues, and all the currently-released books of Vespers vs. Cahills by Rick Riordan and Co.

I have really enjoyed all of the 39 Clues books I’ve read thus far, so I see no reason why the rest of the series and the spin-off series wouldn’t also be enjoyable. And there’s that whole “must have the complete series on my bookshelves” thing as well; I can’t very well stop at #9, now can I? I’m hoping to get caught up on these over Winter Break, where I’ll have two-plus weeks to do nothing but whatever I want!

So that’s my topic of choice this week, and my picks. What did you decide to post about? Please link me!

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday #7: TTT Rewind

  1. Lucy says:

    This is a really great topic and I can definitely relate. I’ve only read Catastrophic History and Hex Hall and I enjoyed them both. Tiger Lily looks fantastic too. Hope all of these books are worth the wait!

  2. I really interested in Everneath and Incarnate :) I read Tiger Lily awhile ago I know a lot of people loved it but I was a bit disappointed by it.

  3. I’ve been meaning to read Everneath forever, but still haven’t gotten around to it yet! I hope you eventually get to some of these :-)

  4. I read Hex Hall, but never picked up the second book. I do want to finish this series, because I really adore the first book. :)

    J’adore Happy Endings

  5. I read the first 2 Hex Halls and liked them, but sold them soon after. Then the 3rd came out and I got interested again, so now I need to reread the first 2 because I don’t remember what happened. lol…

    I have the 3rd Mysterious Benedict Society on my to-read pile and it has been there a while too. I really enjoy that series, so I don’t know what’s stopping me. Great list!

  6. Brittany says:

    AHHH go read Tiger Lily right now!! I was so incredibly good.
    I’ve always been curious about Hex Hall! If you read it, I’d love to hear what you think :)

  7. Hex Hall is funny. I bet you could read that book in just.. two hours, or something like that. It’s such an easy read.
    Incarnate, Everneath, The catastropic… also on my list.

    Do yourself a favor, READ TIGER LILY. Oh my goodness, what a wonderful book is that. Tears in my eyes & a shattered heart, but it was worth it. I want to re-read it already :p

    TTT @thedailyprophecy.

  8. Great list!!! :) I still have to get around to reading The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict too!

    My TTT is Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens (Or Any Other Natural Disaster)
    http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/top-ten-books/

  9. Shelver506 says:

    I’ve only read Incarnate and Tiger Lily, but I think you’ll like them. Enjoy (hopefully soon)!

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-rewind-top-ten-bookish.html

  10. I’ve actually never read any of the Rick Riordan books! To be honest, only recently have even heard of him! Maybe we’ll both have to get around to reading Tiger Lily to motivate each other to finally get to it! lol :)

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    Michele | Top 10

  11. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #19 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

