Waiting on Wednesday #19

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Dance of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin (Greenwillow Books):

The sequel to Masque of the Red Death, which Melissa Marr called, “Haunting and beautiful.” Araby Worth is poised either to save her city, or to abandon it. In a novel that embodies dark, sexy, tragic, and fearless, Bethany Griffin concludes her incredible, atmospheric reimagining of Edgar Allan Poe’s classic short story.

Araby Worth’s city is on fire. Her brother is dead. Her best friend could be soon. Her mother is a prisoner, her father is in hiding. And the two boys who stole her heart have both betrayed her. But Araby has found herself, and she is going to fight back. Inspired by one of Edgar Allan Poe’s most compelling stories, “The Masque of the Red Death,” Bethany Griffin has spun two sultry and intricate novels about a young woman who finds herself on the brink of despair but refuses to give in. Decadent masquerades, steamy stolen moments, and sweeping action are set in a city crumbling from neglect and tragedy. A city that seeps into your skin. Dance of the Red Death is the riveting conclusion to the dark and fascinating saga of an unforgettable heroine.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I LOVED Masque of the Red Death. I basically read it in one sitting, it was so engaging and engrossing. While it has some tropes I’m not overly fond of – namely the love triangle – there was something about the atmosphere and the overarching story that just pulled me in. I hadn’t realized that it wasn’t going to be a trilogy, and I kind of love that; I think this could have easily drug on for too long. I really hope Araby turns out as awesome as the description makes her out to be, because she definitely wasn’t always like that in the first one! The cover also intrigues me. It’s definitely eye-catching, and I’m betting it will be all shimmery and silvery just like the first one. It will definitely look very pretty on my shelves.

Release Date: April 23, 2013

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Please link me!

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #19

  1. frodosco says:

    Excellent pick! I still haven’t read MotRD but DotRD sounds amazing too! Thanks for sharing! ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday you can do so here. :)

  2. Ooooh! I think I have another book I need to add to my TBR list!!! Thanks. Please check out my WoW!

  3. I really want to read Masque of the Read Death!! It look so cool and I LOVE the cover!

  4. I have not read The Masque of Red Death – either the YA story by Griffin or the original Poe short story. Apparently I need to read those soon!

  5. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #20 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

