Follow Friday #7

To join the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

*(Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee & Alison Can Read}
*(Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
*Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
*Grab the button and place it in a post; this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
*If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed
*Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
*If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love … and the followers

QUESTION: Do you mind books with similar ideas to other books? Similar concepts, backgrounds, retellings or pulled-to-publish fanfic?

It depends. I ADORE fairy tale retellings, so in that respect, yes. However, a big problem with some YA literature is that many of them take the same themes – usually modeled after Twilight (add or subtract a magical creature or two!) – and just change things slightly, and when that happens, I tend to NOT like it terribly much. Examples of books I’ve read just this year that have had that “typical” (to me) vibe include Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock, Of Poseidon by Anna Banks, Firelight by Sophie Jordan, and Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. All of these books have similarities to them, whether its a love triangle, a clueless “heroine”, or an “I love him even though he treats me terribly” romance. Can we get some variety, please?

HOW TO FOLLOW ME: If you’re interested in following me, you can use any method you’d like, although I’m partial to Linky Followers. If you have a WordPress blog, however, please use the little “follow” link in the upper left-hand corner! And please leave me a comment if you follow so I can follow you back!

This entry was posted in Follow Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Follow Friday #7

  1. I like airy tale retellings too! ‘I love him even though he treats me horribly’ romance! Hahaha, those are getting quite popular somehow… ;)

    The Readdicts Feature & Follow Friday post

    New follower here!

    Sarika @ The Readdicts

  2. I see Twilight was being used as examples of other books coping off it pretty often this week… Well, I myself am not a Twilight fan, so I haven’t read the books, and therefore didn’t actually know any book that had a similar idea as Twilight :P But I would say some ideas like love triangles, forbidden love, vampires, werewolves, etc. are pretty general stuff. So you can’t really say it’s coping since there is actually no real prove that who thought of the idea first, it’s just… Here… Like the love triangle thing, I am sure Stephine Meyer didn’t invent the love triangle, so I wouldn’t hold it against other books that they are coping Twilight. I do get a little tired of vampires though… And I love fairy tale retellings! Usually the retellings are more dark and grim (not pun intended :P) and I like it! Fairy tales retellings are the fairy tales for Young Adults ;)

    New LInky follower, here’s my FF

    Allyson Rida @ Chillin’ With Books

  3. I definitely agree with you. New follower.
    Here’s my FF

  4. Kazhy says:

    I agree with some authors copying Twilight, but I really loved Hush, Hush XD

    New Linky follower! Here’s my F&F post ^^

    – Kazhy @ My Library in the Making

  5. Hopping through. I agree that Hush, Hush had that typical vibe although it definitely distinguished itself eventually.
    My Hop

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #23 –

  7. I agree, there are a lot of too similar books out there and sometimes it works..sometimes not!
    Old follower!

  8. Melissa says:

    Hello, new follower. Really there are no new stories only retellings, wouldn’t you agree. Here’s my link PageGirlsPageofBookReviews Thanks

  9. Amanda says:

    Thanks for stopping by my feature! I’m following back!

    -Amanda P
    Where the Night Kind Roam (Formally Paranormal Romance)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

