Waiting on Wednesday #24

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2) by Susan Dennard (HarperTeen):

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the first book, Something Strange and Deadly.

Following an all-out battle with the walking Dead, the Spirit Hunters have fled Philadelphia, leaving Eleanor alone to cope with the devastating aftermath. But there’s more trouble ahead—the evil necromancer Marcus has returned, and his diabolical advances have Eleanor escaping to Paris to seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the infuriatingly handsome Daniel once again. When she arrives, however, she finds a whole new darkness lurking in this City of Light. As harrowing events unfold, Eleanor is forced to make a deadly decision that will mean life or death for everyone.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I really enjoyed Something Strange and Deadly. It was heavy with atmosphere – you had the historical setting of the Philadelphia World’s Fair combined with the walking dead. I’m not normally a zombie fan, but there was something about this book that just drew me in. Eleanor is a feisty heroine, and I loved the sparks that flew between her and Daniel. There was just so much to love about the first book, and considering how well she brought Philly to life, I can only imagine her fabulous descriptions of Paris. I’m sure this book will be every bit as enjoyable as the first one was!

Release Date: July 23, 2013

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Please link me!

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #24

  1. Kat says:

    I really want to read book 1 but I haven’t yet. Great pick!

    Here’s my WOW pick.

    Kat
    Wit and Sin

  2. I cant wait for this one. Loved book 1. How amazing is that dress.

    Check out our WOW
    Siobhán @ Totally Bookalicious

  3. Brittany says:

    I’m definitely picking this up when it comes out! I really enjoyed the first and I think I’m actually most interested to see what happens with her hand lol. Plus I really want to know what this plot line will be! I wonder if it’ll be a lot different than SS+D…

  4. Thanks for warning me about spoilers in the blurb. I have yet to read the first book and I’m really excited to try it out :)

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  5. I think I have another book I need to add to my TBR list!!! Thanks for spotlighting it and Happy Thanksgiving!! Please check out my WoW!

  6. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Oh gosh, that cover is just beautiful! :)
    Well I didn’t read the synopsis, since I haven’t read book one. But I think I do need to! :)

  7. roses7184 says:

    What a gorgeous cover! I hadn’t heard of this series yet but based on your description this is going on my wishlist! Thanks for sharing :).

    Jessica @ Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #25 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

