REVIEW: Scorch by Gina Damico

scorchScorch (Croak #2) by Gina Damico
Graphia, 2012
[Goodreads | Amazon]

Previous Book: Croak

Sixteen-year-old Lex Bartleby is a teenage grim reaper with the bizarre ability to damn souls. That makes her pretty scary, even to fellow Grims. But after inadvertently transferring her ability to Zara, a murderous outlaw, Lex is a pariah in Croak, the little town she calls home.

To escape the townspeople’s wrath, she and her friends embark on a wild road trip to DeMyse. Though this sparkling desert oasis is full of luxuries and amusements, it feels like a prison to Lex. Her best chance at escape would be to stop Zara once and for all—but how can she do that from DeMyse, where the Grims seem mysteriously oblivious to Zara’s killing spree?

mythoughts

As someone who absolutely adored every single word of Croak (see my review HERE), I couldn’t wait to dive into its sequel, Scorch, and was so excited when the book finally came in at my library. And while Scorch turned out to be quite a bit darker than Croak, and took the plot in a direction I wasn’t expecting, it wound up being just as good – and in some ways better – than its predecessor.

The thing I really adored in Croak was the absolutely laugh-out-loud funny humor that Damico inserted throughout the book. And while Scorch has its fair share – particularly the lines courtesy of Uncle Mort when referring to Lex and Driggs’ relationship – the plot of this one was so much darker than the first that I kind of felt that humor was sort of tempered a bit. There is a lot of danger and intrigue in this book – Zara is on the loose, people are turning up Damned all over the country, and the once-safe town of Croak is no longer safe for anyone, let alone the Junior Grims. Considering that the characters work as Grim Reapers, I was a bit surprised by all the death and destruction! This is not to say that it wasn’t well done, of course – this book was, in some ways, more tightly constructed and plotted out than the first, even if it had a much different tone to it – but, again, it was quite a switch from book one and sort of threw me for a loop.

The one person I really came to love in this installment was Elysia, who is, quite simply, an absolutely fabulous character and a wonderful friend to Lex and the others. I feel like we really got to see more of her in this book, and I definitely hope that continues in the third one, because she is a character that really sparkles and shines. I loved her line to Lex about being “exceptionally sticky” (meaning she’ll stick to Lex no matter what); she was truly a star in this book, and I adored her to pieces. ♥

Scorch is a wonderful continuation of Lex’s story, and definitely sets the series up for one bang of a finale. I can’t wait to see what the plot twist at the end means for everyone, and how things will be resolved. There seems to be quite a bit going on that’s going to have to be tied up in the final book, and while I can sort of see how things are coming together, I’ve no doubt that Damico will throw us a few more curves before its all said and done. Needless to say, I can’t wait to read Rogue, and shall be waiting impatiently for its release!

5stars

newsignature

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: Scorch by Gina Damico

  1. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Definitely eager to get ahold of Croak when hearing the follow up book is just as good, if not better. I like dark books and humour is always a positive thing for me and the concept is definitely an interesting one. I just don’t know why I havent’ bought these books sooner.

    Lovely review!

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #28 –

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Books Read in 2012 [11] –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

