Waiting on Wednesday #29

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Sky on Fire (Monument 14 #2) by Emmy Laybourne (Feiwel & Friends):

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the first book, Monument 14.

skyonfireThe world hasn’t ended…yet.

In this sequel to MONUMENT 14, the group of survivors, originally trapped together in a superstore by a series of escalating disasters, has split in two. Most of the kids are making a desperate run on their recently repaired school bus for the Denver airport where they hope to reunite with their parents, be evacuated to safety, and save their dying friend.

But the world outside is dark and filled with dangerous chemicals that turn people into bloodthirsty monsters, and not all the kids were willing to get on the bus. Left behind in a sanctuary that has already been disturbed once, the remaining kids try to rebuild the community they lost. But when the issues are life and death, love and hate, who can you really trust?

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I really enjoyed the first book, Monument 14 (review HERE). There was something very compelling about watching a group of kids figure out the best way to survive. Maybe it wasn’t as action-packed as most post-apocalyptic books, especially since the kids were confined in a place where everything they could have wanted or needed was right at their fingertips, but as someone who works with kids on a daily basis, I absolutely loved watching them grow up and mature. I am especially interested to see how Laybourne has written this book, since it seems split between the two groups of kids and focusing on them equally. I have a feeling the group on the bus is going to face a number of trials and tribulations!

Release Date: May 28, 2013

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Please link me!

And I hope all of you who celebrate had a very Merry Christmas! ♥

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #29

  1. sqt says:

    Oh my gosh, I can’t believe the sequel to “Monument 14” is coming out already. I still have to read the first book!

    My WoW

  2. Wow! I’m definitely going to have to check this series out. Thanks for sharing. I love that you listed Narnia, HP, and Lord of the Rings in your favorite series list btw.

    Here’s mine

    ~Danica Page
    Taking it One Page at a Time

  3. I never expected Monument 14 to have a sequel and now that it does, I wonder, what’s going to happen in Sky On Fire? I just hope that the main guy character (I forgot his name I read it a long long time ago) will finally grow some guts and back himself up.

    My WoW

  4. I haven’t yet read Monument 14, but plan to soon! Can I just say that the covers for these books are so unique and original!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #30 – Christmas Edition! –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

