Waiting on Wednesday #35

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Furious by Jill Wolfson (Henry Holt and Co. BYR):

furiousThree high school girls become the avenging Furies of Greek legend.

We were only three angry girls, to begin with. Alix, the hot-tempered surfer chick; Stephanie, the tree-hugging activist; and me, Meg, the quiet foster kid, the one who never quite fit in. We hardly knew each other, but each of us nurtured a burning anger: at the jerks in our class, at our disappointing parents, at the whole flawed, unjust world.

We were only three angry girls, simmering uselessly in our ocean-side California town, until one day a mysterious, beautiful classmate named Ambrosia taught us what else we could be: Powerful. Deadly. Furious.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Duh! The summary mentions mythology, and I am a giant fan of all things mythology. In fact, this is Mythology Week on my blog! I started off the week with another retelling involving the Furies, Fury by Shirley Marr, and will end with yet another Furies-retelling in Envy by Elizabeth Miles. As you can probably tell from the previous titles, I love the idea of retellings involving the Furies, and have heard good things about this one from folks who were lucky enough to get ARCs. I can’t wait to dive into Furious!

Release Date: April 16, 2013

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Please link me!

giveawaybannerWhile you’re here, please stop by THIS POST and enter for your chance to win a Greek Mythology-themed book of your choice from the Book Depository! Giveaway is international and ends this Saturday. Good luck!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Mythology Week, Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #35

  1. Pingback: Mythology Week @ Read and Reviewed –

  2. Cricket says:

    I’m also a fan of mythology and I think this is a great choice!
    Cricket@LittleLibraryMuse
    My WoW

  3. Book Nerd says:

    *highfives* I LOVE MYTHOLOGY too :D

    ——
    Giselle @ Book Nerd Canada
    Waiting on Wednesday

  4. I love mythology too, and this cover looks awesome! I like that the storyline is unique, and something that’s never been done before.

    Here’s my WOW for this week:
    http://www.abookishescape.com/2013/02/waiting-on-wednesday-4.html

  5. Sabina says:

    I’m looking forward to this one too! I love mythology as well. Great choice!

    My WoW

    Sabina @ Delirious About Books

  6. Alicia♥ says:

    WHOAAA, that reminded me of the Furies quite a bit, wonder what their deadly powers are! Love that turbulent waves background, I sense all that tension and FURIOSITY~ :D

    My WoW

  7. Megan Nicole says:

    Oooh.. I love mythology too! Adding this one to m y to-read list!

  8. This sounds really good, and I love the cover and I love, love, love greek legends .. so this is actually kind of perfect. Gimme, gimme ;)
    My WoW

  9. I have this on preorder so great choice! I can’t wait to read it :)

    Here’s my WoW!

  10. Yes, I can’t wait for this book! Sounds very good :D

    WoW Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  11. bethfarwell says:

    Great choice! I’m wondering what the outcome will be. [Uh Oh] Books like this make me remember why I should be nice to EVERYONE. Kharma is a bitch, and she’ll kick your ass! <3
    New FB like ;)
    Beth @ YA Vixens
    Vixens WoW
    A Vixens Giveaway!

  12. Em D. says:

    Love mythology. Can’t wait to see this take on it. Great pick!
    Em @ A Beautiful Madness
    My WOW

  13. Kay says:

    I love a good mythology story and this one sounds really good. I also love Percy Jackson!

    My WoW

  14. Lucy says:

    Nice pick for mythology week! There’s sure been a lot of interesting retellings lately. And the furies are an especially intriguing subject. Great WoW!

  15. Stasia says:

    This looks great. I just finished SOLSTICE by P. J. Hoover, a really cool re-envisioning of mythological characters interacting with an earth nearing global-warming apocalypse. Thanks for the recommendation!

  16. Ashley says:

    Oh my gosh yes!! This book sounds AMAAAAZING!! I was so lucky to get an ARC of this and I’ll probably read it soon. :) I’m obsessed with Greek mythology!!

    My WoW

  17. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    This does sound pretty good. Hope you enjoy it when you get your hands on it, since I know you love mythology an awful lot! :)

  18. I really want to read Furious!

  19. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #36 –

  20. Pingback: Mythology Week Recap + Giveaway Winner Announcement –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

