Waiting on Wednesday #40

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Thornhill (Hemlock #2) by Kathleen Peacock (Katherine Tegen):

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the first book, Hemlock.

thornhillMac can’t lose another friend. Even if he doesn’t want to be found.

The ripple effect caused by Mac’s best friend Amy’s murder has driven Mac’s new love, Kyle, to leave Hemlock and disappear from her life forever. But Mac knows that Kyle plans to enroll in a rehabilitation camp, where he can live with other werewolves. She refuses to accept his decision, especially since the camps are rumored to be tortuous. So she sets out in search of Kyle with a barely sober Jason—and Amy’s all-seeing ghost—in tow.

Clues lead Mac to find Kyle in a werewolf den in Colorado—but their reunion is cut short by a Tracker raid. Now Mac and Kyle are trapped inside the electric fences of Thornhill, a camp for young werewolves. As she devises an escape plan, Mac uncovers dangerous secrets buried within the walls of Thornhill—and realizes that the risk to the people she loves is greater than ever before.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

While I did not love Hemlock, I was intrigued enough by the ending to want to read the second book. And this summary sounds SO much better, too, full of more action and (hopefully) less love-triangle. I cannot wait to see how she writes this werewolf camp, and just what Mac’s plan is to get her and Kyle out (and where the heck is Jason in all of this? Inquiring minds want to know!). While my disappointment with Hemlock will keep me from being overly exuberant about this one prior to my reading it, I am cautiously optimistic that it will be good. Fingers crossed! (Also: I ADORE the pink flowers on this cover. So pretty!)

Release Date: September 10, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #40

  1. Majanka says:

    I didn’t even know there would be a sequel to Hemlock. I still have to finish Hemlock, but this series looks amazing so I’m definitely going to look into it. Great choice!

    My WOW post.

  2. I still need to read Hemlock, it sounds like such a good book :)

    My WoW

  3. I’m in the middle of trying to finish a first book in a series just to get to the second book, which sounds better. This one sounds exceptional. Great pick!

    My WoW

  4. Kathleen says:

    I haven’t read the first book in the series, but the concept sounds interesting. I hope you enjoy the book!

    Kat
    http://www.katsbookbuzz.net

  5. I haven’t had the chance to read Hemlock but I’ve heard great things about the book. I hope you enjoy reading this one when it comes out. Great pick!
    Come check out my WOW post.

  6. I seriously need to read Hemlock– it looks so good, but I just haven’t had the time yet… *sigh* Lovely pick, I hope that you get to read it soon! (:

    My WoW

  7. I agree. I didn’t fell in love with Hemlock, but it was definitely interesting enough to make me excited for this one :)

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • Merin says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! I saw so much love for Hemlock, but it felt very typical ya paranormal to me, with the love triangle. Still, the ending was compelling and this one sounds SO much better that I can’t resist.

  8. Quinn says:

    Ahhh, I still need to read Hemlock and now a sequel is coming out. So little time, so many books :)

  9. Eh, werewolves arent really my type.. But I hope you enjoy! :D
    Top 10 Tuesday
    Waiting on Wednesday

  10. Ashley Knapp says:

    I haven’t read Hemlock yet. I want to though!
    New follower via email!
    ~Ashley
    My WoW

  11. I still haven’t read Hemlock, but definitely plan to. I need to hurry before the second book comes out!

  12. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    I haven’t started this series yet, but it does sound interesting. Great pick, Merin! :)

  13. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #41 –

  14. This is an interesting sounding story. I’m not much of one for werewolves, but a friend of mine is, so I’ll have to mention this one to her!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

