Waiting on Wednesday #42

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Beauty’s Daughter: The Story of Hermione and Helen of Troy by Carolyn Meyer (Harcourt Children’s):

beautysdaughterThe Spartan princess Hermione is the daughter of Helen, who is known as the most beautiful woman in the ancient world. When Helen runs off to Troy with the handsome young Prince Paris, Hermione’s father, King Menelaus, erupts in fury. He amasses a thousand ships and sails for Troy, determined to reclaim Helen. This is the beginning of the Trojan War.

For the next ten years, young Hermione lives outside the walls of Troy and is a witness to the battles that result in the death of heroes on both sides. Can she ever forgive her mother for creating such chaos? And will Hermione find her own love and her own place in the world?

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I have always been interested in Helen of Troy, and even with all the books I’ve read, her daughter, Hermione, is mentioned very little. I am very curious about how Carolyn Meyer will portray her; thinking about it, she had to feel hurt and betrayed when she was left behind by her mother as she ran off with Paris. It’s also interesting that she’s going to be a part of the Trojan War, in that she’s there, right outside of Troy’s walls, throughout those ten long years. I can’t wait to read about the War, politics, and drama through her eyes. And this book gets bonus points for its beautiful cover!

Release Date: October 8, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #42

  1. I’m not sure if I want to read this or not.. I like the mythology side of this story, not the politics. But this is the first time I’ve heard of the daughter, so it’s really interesting! Thanks for sharing! =)
    Waiting on Wednesday
    Reivew: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

  2. Lucy says:

    The cover is really pretty! Sounds like this book is right up your alley with your interest in Helen of Troy and Hermione. Hope that it meets your approval when you get the chance to read it!

  3. I’m not sure this one is for me… I hope you enjoy reading it though. The summary is interesting.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  4. Wow, gorgeous cover and great blurb. I never wondered about Helen of Troy’s daughter, so really intrigued about this. Thanks for sharing!

    My Waiting on Wednesday

  5. Majanka says:

    That books looks great. I love the cover, and the synopsis sounds intriguing as well. Love the concept of a daughter of Helen of Troy. Great choice!

    Here is my WOW post.

  6. Great choice, I hadn’t heard of it but but I love reading about Helen of Troy so this sounds fantastic!

    My WoW!

  7. Ooo this sounds interesting. I’ve never read anything surround the Trojan War.

    Clean Teen Fiction’s WoW

  8. Maria@Queen of All She Reads says:

    This is the first time I’ve seen this book and it does sound interesting!

    Here’s my WoW

  9. This book sounds really interesting, I’ll be checking this one out – thanks for sharing.
    My WOW

  10. What a beautiful cover! I really like the sound of this one :-)

  11. Jessica says:

    Wow! Thanks for sharing this!!! This sounds great!

    My WOW

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  12. Quinn says:

    Wow, this looks really interesting!! I would love to read about Hermione. It might be a little intense, but I definitely won’t be able to pass it up. Thanks for sharing. It’s the first I’ve heard of this one.

  13. I want to read more books on mythology books, so far I’ve only read one , I’m adding this one to my GR.

  14. Oh, this one looks great! I love books about Greek/Roman Mythology. Thanks for sharing!

    Thanks for stopping by My WOW.

    ~ Lynette @ Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

  15. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    I bet this is an interesting take on this kind of mythology since it’s from her daughter’s point of view. I haven’t heard of story from Hermione’s point of view so I’d be interested to read this one! :)

  16. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #43 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

