REVIEW: Vengeance Bound by Justina Ireland

vengeanceboundVengeance Bound by Justina Ireland
S & S Books for Young Readers, 2013
[Goodreads] [Amazon]

Cory Graff is not alone in her head. Bound to a deal of desperation made when she was a child, Cory’s mind houses the Furies—the hawk and the serpent—lingering always, waiting for her to satisfy their bloodlust. After escaping the asylum where she was trapped for years, Cory knows how to keep the Furies quiet. By day, she lives a normal life, but by night, she tracks down targets the Furies send her way. And she brings down Justice upon them.

Cory’s perfected her system of survival, but when she meets a mysterious boy named Niko at her new school, she can’t figure out how she feels about him. For the first time, the Furies are quiet in her head around a guy. But does this mean that Cory’s finally found someone who she can trust, or are there greater factors at work? As Cory’s mind becomes a battlefield, with the Furies fighting for control, Cory will have to put everything on the line to hold on to what she’s worked so hard to build.

mythoughts

As anyone who has read my reviews is probably well aware of at this point, I am a huge sucker for books based on mythology of any kind. Vengeance Bound is a semi-retelling of the Furies, except that our main character, Corinne, is one of the three ladies of justice. She and the other two spend the majority of their time chasing down criminals and administering their own brand of justice. Cory also has a backstory that details how the Furies came to be inside her, and a history with an evil doctor she desperately wants revenge on.

This book was exceptionally fast paced. I began reading it and, before I knew it, was already halfway through. The plot moves quickly, with Cory and the other Furies going out at night to punish wrongdoers, and attending a new high school during the day. While at school she becomes friends with a group of kids who have their own issues, although said issues aren’t completely apparent in the beginning. She also falls for one of the guys in the group, Niko, who I liked quite a bit. Their relationship was fairly slow moving, although Cory of course gets that “weak in the knees” feeling from the get-go.

My biggest issue with this book wasn’t the mythology, which was interesting, or the plot, which was engrossing. The biggest problem was that I really didn’t connect with Cory or any of the other characters at all. I was sort of just surface reading, if that makes sense, not feeling any attachment to their plights or Cory’s struggle to maintain her hold on the Furies so they didn’t completely take over her body. Normally a book that has as much blood and gore as this one would prompt some kind of response – a flinch or wince or something – but that wasn’t the case here at all. I was sort of like Cory, in that I was along for the ride. It was a very strange reading experience for me. I can’t recall the last time I felt so dispassionate about a book’s proceedings.

Still, Vengeance Bound was entertaining enough in that fluffy way. Fans of mythology will enjoy the backstory to the Furies origin, and those who enjoy seeing criminals get their comeuppance will also have something to cheer for. The romance is sweet enough but nothing earth-shattering, and – at least on Cory’s part – a bit too insta-lovy for my tastes, although I did wind up liking the two of them and their sweet shared moments and steamy kisses. The ending seems open to a possible sequel, but I’m not sure I’ll be reading. It wasn’t a bad way to spend an afternoon, but I really can’t say anything more enthusiastic than that.

2stars

 

An e-galley was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

newsignature

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to REVIEW: Vengeance Bound by Justina Ireland

  1. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    It’s such a shame you didn’t connect with the main character in this one, because I particularly find characters to be the selling points of novels for me.

    I hope you find some more mythology books that you like better since I know how much you love it. On the upside, at least the mythology was good here! :)

    • Merin says:

      I agree. Connecting with the characters is super important to me, so that part was a definite downer! I’ve still yet to find that absolutely perfect book dealing with the Furies. It seems to be a hard subject for authors to get absolutely right!

  2. Too bad it wasn’t mind blowing good! Great review as always!

  3. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #44 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

