Top Ten Favorite Books from Before I Was A Blogger

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s topic is the Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger. This wasn’t difficult to put together at all, although I tried to stay away from my go-to favorites in order to spice up the list just a tad. So, while I easily could have added the Harry Potter books (number three is my favorite), the Percy Jackson books, or the His Dark Materials books, I left those off this week. Consider them honorable mentions!

impossible1) Impossible by Nancy Werlin

I just really loved the main character in this one. Lucy has to face enormous odds – odds no one in her family has ever overcome – and she does it with humor and determination. I also loved the faerie lore interspersed throughout.

lament2) Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception by Maggie Stiefvater

To this day, this is the only Maggie Stiefvater book I’ve read. I LOVE faerie books, and this one was just amazing. There was lots of suspense, romance, and drama throughout the entire thing. The ending broke my heart a bit, but I’ve heard there’s going to be a third in this series so I’ll hold out hope that perhaps things can be fixed satisfactorily for this romantic.

akatawitch3) Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

This was a required title for my Fantasy Literature course in Grad School, and I’m SO glad I was “forced” to read it! Sunny is a wonderful main character who has to deal with a lot of discrimination, but has a pluck and good humor about her that makes her a joy to read. The magical elements in this world are also amazingly creative and fun!

audreywait4) Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

This was also a required title, this time for my YA Literature course (feel free to be jealous; I had some amazing required reading lists!). I’ve talked about this one on previous TTT posts, but I just love the humor in this book. Audrey is a very real character, and I loved the musical backdrop provided for this story. The romance is sweet, the characters laugh-out-loud funny, and I just very much enjoyed every single thing about this book.

timetravelerswife5) The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The only adult book on my list! This book packs quite the emotional punch, which is not always what I’m going for when I’m reading. To this day, I’ve only been able to read it the one time. I just found myself entranced by the improbable romance and love story. And bonus points for having a character who’s a librarian!

howlsmovingcastle6) Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Oh, Howl. He’s such a whiny brat, but I couldn’t help but love him anyway. I also adored Sophie’s determination and grit, and Calcifer’s wit. This book is just all kinds of fun!

bookthief7) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Oh, this book broke me in ways I didn’t think possible. I remember when it was first released; I was working at Barnes & Noble, and it was a book we were told to push the heck out of. I don’t like pushing books I haven’t read, so I took it home to read. I still remember the sobbing mess it left me in! The entire thing is very unique and so emotionally wrenching. I haven’t been able to re-read it since.

mysteriousbenedictsociety8) The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart (and sequels)

These are amazingly fun MG books. The four children in this books are smart, funny, adventurous, and all kinds of other good adjectives. I love the focus on intelligence over physicality, and the ways the problem solving really falls to them. The latter two books in the series are darker in tone, but still so good.

E940_SCH_BornConfused_0.tif9) Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier

Another required title for my YA Literature course, and was another I otherwise would not have picked up at all. I loved Dimple’s personal journey and her search to figure out who and what she was and wanted to be. I also want to give props to the author for not making it all about the romance!

stardust10) Stardust by Neil Gaiman

I picked this one up prior to the film’s release several years ago, and ended up really loving it. This surprised me, because to that point I’d read some other Gaiman books and really didn’t enjoy them as much as I thought I would. But this one was fairy tale-ish, magical, and creative, and I gobbled it up. Definitely my favorite!

So those are my picks for this week! What are yours? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Top Ten Favorite Books from Before I Was A Blogger

  1. I adore Audrey, Wait! and The Mysterious Benedict Society! :) My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/04/08/beforeblogging/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. I have Time Traveler’s Wife, but just never read it yet. Might have to move it up on my tbr pile! My TTT

  3. I have Audrey, Wait and it sounds amazing. I’ll definitely have to read it soon :) Great picks!

  4. I actually havent read any of these books yet, though I’ve watched Stardust and The Time Traveller’s Wife and loved both! :)
    Top Ten Tuesday
    April Blog Hop

  5. ChrissiReads says:

    The Time Traveller’s Wife and The Book Thief are fantastic books. Great list!

  6. Quinn says:

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is so much fun! I’ve read Stardust and Lament, but they weren’t favorites for me. Thanks for sharing :)

    • Merin says:

      I love the MBS books. I remember when I saw the first one on the shelves. It looked interesting, so I took it home, and pretty much devoured it! I’m always trying to get my kids to read it, but it’s fairly hefty and I always get raised eyebrows, although the ones who HAVE checked it out have loved it. :)

  7. I just bought Howl’s Moving Castle last month an I’m dying to finally read it. I loved the movie and I’ve heard such great things about the book.
    Check out my TTT.

  8. Stardust was amazing! Still haven’t watched the movie though…

  9. Candice says:

    Stardust is one of my favorite movies; I feel like I watch it all the time. I read the book after the movie; I really liked the book… but may prefer the movie to it!

  10. Nikki says:

    Stardust! I love that book. It almost made my list, but I chose Gaiman’s Neverwhere instead. ;) Great list!

    My Top Ten

  11. I love Stardust and Lament!

  12. Cecelia says:

    Oh, you have wonderful taste! I love your list. I have Neil Gaiman’s NEVERWHERE on mine, and I’m not quite sure how Diana Wynne Jones escaped me (probably because her books show up every week, and I wanted to try to keep it fresh!). Also love the Benedict Society mention, and even thinking about THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE makes me teary. Lovely, lovely books.

    Thanks for sharing your list.

  13. Rebecca says:

    The Book Thief made me cry, too. I’d love to re-read it at some point, but it’s just so long, you know? I haven’t read Impossible yet, even though I own it, mostly because I didn’t enjoy Werlin’s other book, Extraordinary. Nice list. :)

    • Merin says:

      A friend of mine read Impossible first, and then tried to read Extraordinary, and really hated it. I have avoided it because of that, particularly since I didn’t want to taint my feelings for Impossible!

  14. I loveedddddd The Time Traveler’s Wife… ooh my heart <3 I haven't read the others but I have heard the Book Thief is amazing and I can't wait to read that one! Great list Merin :) I really need to read some of these… I always like the books you read :P

  15. Briana says:

    I didn’t do this week’s TTT, but the The Mysterious Benedict Society certainly would have been on my list! I think it’s so clever and just the perfect book for a child. I wish I were eleven again just so I could experience it as the “target audience” even though I love it now.

  16. Aww man. I haven’t read ANY of these. Though, I did want to when I saw them for the first time. :)

  17. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #45 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

