Waiting on Wednesday #44

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler (Knopf Books for Young Readers):

darkbetweenAt the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Admittedly the cover isn’t doing much for me, but this book sounds wonderfully creepy, doesn’t it? I like ghost stories, and particularly ones that involve the early 20th century. The full synopsis also calls this one “perfect” for fans of Libba Bray, and I am certainly one of those! My pick last week was a historical as well, and as I said then, I just love those, especially if they can really put the reader in the time and place the book is set. All I know is this just sounds awesome!

Release Date: August 27, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

newsignature

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #44

  1. Nikki says:

    Ooh, this does sound wonderfully creepy, you’re right. And I loved The Diviners, so I’m definitely going to have to add this one to my TBR list!

    My WoW

  2. OH this was my wow a few weeks ago too and I think the cover changed slightly since. But it’s still uber freaking creepy and I can’t wait to get my grabby hands on it! :D

  3. Lucy says:

    Yes, this does sound totally creepy and like a perfect fall read. Hope you love it!

  4. I love the concept of this one, I’m hoping it doesn’t disappoint. Great pick!
    My WoW Pick!

  5. Nicole says:

    Ahhh I love the synopsis AND Libba Bray (Have you read the Diviners? AMAZING) I am so happy I stumbled across this one! THANKS for sharing!!! :)

    my WoW
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  6. Ellie M. says:

    How interesting! The story sounds really promising.

    – Ellie at The Selkie Reads Stories

  7. Eh, not really my type of read, but thanks for sharing! Have a great day :D
    Waiting on Wedneday
    April Blog Hop(INTL)

  8. Ohhh, sounds creepy! I am definitely checking this book out. Great pick!

  9. This one sounds creepy, but good. That cover kind of freaks me out a little. Not sure why.
    -Melissa @ Harley Bear Book Blog

  10. Quinn says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE ghost stories. They are my favorites, and I absolutely have to read this one. But I don’t want to wait until August! Ugh!

  11. Nicole @ The Lone Unicorn says:

    I agree with you on both the cover and how the book sounds. Added it to my TBR!

    My WoW

  12. Thanks for the recommendation! This isn’t the genre that I usually go for, but the synopsis definitely sounds interesting. And I have to agree – the cover could use some work. **New Follower**
    Check me out at:
    My Waiting on Wednesday

  13. Nafiza says:

    I love the cover! Especially the expression on the model’s face. I hope it’s superawesome.

  14. Kate says:

    Great choice, I will definitely read this when it comes out : )

    my WOW and international giveaway

  15. Fantastic pick for this week! :)

    New follower via bloglovin! Here is my WoW!

  16. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #45 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s