Stacking the Shelves #45

stsbanner

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can read more about the creation of Stacking the Shelves by visiting the official launch page here.

Hello, everyone! This week was an extremely busy one.

  • Monday I attended the Cardinals Home Opener (I love baseball!). The Cardinals lost due to a bullpen implosion in the ninth inning, but the weather was super nice and prior to that, the game entertaining, so it wasn’t a total loss.
  • Tuesday I went to the Ratification Meeting for my school district; we’re having some financial difficulties and it’s resulted in some issues between the NEA and school board, which has delayed our contracts being distributed. There’s also been a lot of job shuffling and general upheaval, so that’s been rather stressful and frustrating for all involved. We also got several new students at the school this week (this always happens right before we start our state standardized testing), so there have been some adjustments in that regard as well.
  • Wednesday night we got hammered by a spring storm which left us without power for nearly twelve hours (I don’t recommend showering, trying to get dressed, do your hair and apply makeup by flashlight, just fyi!), and …
  • Thursday I had a 7:30am staff meeting, ugh (I’m SO not a morning person!). Next week is also National Library Week, so I spent my planning times trying to come up with some fun and interesting lessons to do with my students to celebrate.

All of this really cut into my reading time this week, but I still managed to pick up some new books, and since that’s what everyone’s here for, I shall cease rambling now. :)

NOTE: Goodreads isn’t currently loading for me, so I haven’t included links to the books. Sorry about that! Hopefully it doesn’t cause too much of an inconvenience. If it comes up later I shall edit them in.

sts45

Purchased:

  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Chronicles II – Creatures and Characters by Weta

storybound suddenlyroyal clockworkangel clockworkprince
clockworkprincess myexfromhell somequietplace

E-books/E-Galleys:

  • Storybound by Marissa Burt
  • Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase (for upcoming blog tour stop)
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
  • Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
  • My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling
  • Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton (NetGalley)

Thank you to Flux for the e-galley! My stop on the Suddenly Royal blog tour is in a couple of weeks, so keep an eye out for that! All of Cassandra Clare’s books were on sale for Kindle this past weekend, so I went ahead and picked up the three Infernal Devices books. I think I’m one of the last people to start Clockwork Angel, but am hoping to get to it soon.

I also received some bookmarks from Amy Carol Reeves (author of Ripper and Renegade) in the mail this week. I love getting swag in the mail! ♥

renegadebookmarks

So what did you get this week? Please link me!

Weekly Recap

04/08/13: Review of The Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar
04/09/13: Top Ten Tuesday – My Top Ten Books from Before I Was A Blogger
04/10/13: Waiting on Wednesday #44 – The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler
04/12/13: Review of Infatuate (Gilded Wings #2) by Aimee Agresti

Upcoming Reviews

White Lines by Jennifer Banash
How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
Forty Days (Neima’s Ark #1) by Stephanie Parent

newsignature

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Stacking the Shelves #45

  1. Asti (A Bookish Heart) says:

    Wow, that sounds like quite the crazy week. Glad at least there was a little bit of good in there (baseball) to help balance it out! Hope you enjoy the Infernal Devices series! Sometimes I wish I would’ve waited until all three books were out before I purchased and read them so it would all be fresh in my mind. I forget so much!

  2. Great haul of books, the Creatures & Characters book is fantastic – can’t wait for the next instalment! Happy reading :)

    My Haul!

  3. Holy busy week Merin! That’s awesome you got to go to the home opener. Our(Blue Jays) home opener was on a weeknight(and I’m a nerd and hate going out on “work nights” lol) and we lost too lol, so I’m glad I didn’t do. I cannot wait to see a home game this year. I can’t believe you love baseball AND basketball.. I hardly know any girls that like sports. It sucks, lol. If it makes you feel any better… I also haven’t started Clockwork Angel, hahaha.

  4. Some quiet place looks cool!

  5. I’m excited to see your post for the Suddenly Royal blog tour, the book looks really good! :) Happy reading!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  6. Great shelf! I’m totally jealous of Clockwork Princess. I have the first 2 books in the series, but haven’t gotten around to buying the third yet. I hope you love all of your books. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  7. I’m really curious about Some Quiet Place :) And I still need to read Clockwork Prince! Awesome haul.

    Janina
    My Haul!

  8. Can’t wait for Clockwork Princess. Hope you enjoy.
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  9. Anahera says:

    Great haul! That book from Weta. It looks so beautiful and I am drooling. This is the… I think third STS that I’ve seen Clockwork Princess on. Everyone is convincing me to get these books ASAP! :P

    My haul is over here, not a lot. A mystery, a YA, some chick lit, and a Children’s book.

  10. Halee says:

    The Infernal Devices series!!!!! I LOVE THOSE BOOKS! Cassandra Clare is a fantastic writer. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. Great haul@

    Halee @ Confessions of a Book Addict

    My STS

  11. Clockwork Prince was my favorite of the Infernal Devices series. I hope you enjoy them! I’m on a roller coaster relationship with Cassandra Clare’s writing. Seems like I love one book and then feel mediocre to frustrated with the next. But at least they make me feel something. Happy reading!

    Check out my SP & STS.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  12. Danielle says:

    I only started TID a couple of weeks ago. I prefer TMI but it is a great series. I’m sure you’ll love it!

  13. Nicole says:

    Better late than never! The Infernal Devices is seriously such an amazing series. I don’t think I’ve ever loved a complete group of characters as much I do here. And Cassandra Clare gives you a bit of everything – adventure, heartbreak, love, humor – I’m so excited for you to start reading haha! I hope you love them as much as I did!! Oh, and enjoy the rest of your books too :)

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  14. Lucy says:

    Awesome haul! Suddenly Royal does look very cute – looking forward to your tour stop & hearing more about it. Good time to pick up the Infernal Devices trilogy. Hope you love it as much as I did!

  15. Quinn says:

    Oooo, Cassandra Clare goodness! I hope this week is less stressful for you.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

