Waiting on Wednesday #45

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for All Our Pretty Songs by Sarah McCarry (St. Martin’s Griffin):

allourprettysongsSet against the lush, magical backdrop of the Pacific Northwest, two inseparable best friends who have grown up like sisters—the charismatic, mercurial, and beautiful Aurora and the devoted, soulful, watchful narrator—find their bond challenged for the first time ever when a mysterious and gifted musician named Jack comes between them. Suddenly, each girl must decide what matters most: friendship, or love. What both girls don’t know is that the stakes are even higher than either of them could have imagined. They’re not the only ones who have noticed Jack’s gift; his music has awakened an ancient evil—and a world both above and below which may not be mythical at all. The real and the mystical; the romantic and the heartbreaking all begin to swirl together, carrying the two on journey that is both enthralling and terrifying.

And it’s up to the narrator to protect the people she loves—if she can.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Okay, first off, this is apparently a retelling of the Orpheus and Eurydice myth, so of course it’s straight up my Greek Mythology-loving alley. The sad thing is, I don’t actually have any other reason for wanting to read this, although the more I read the synopsis the more intrigued I become. Admittedly it sounds like this book has classic love triangle syndrome, but I have faith – particularly since it’s two girls and one guy instead of the other way around – that the ancient evil and whatnot may just balance it all out. And what’s up with the whole unnamed narrator thing? That definitely adds a unique twist.

Release Date: July 30, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #45

  1. Sounds like an interesting read! Enjoy!!

    My WoW

  2. I love the Greek mythos spin on this but am a bit skeptical about the love triangle. May have to still give this one a shot though! Great pick. :)
    My WoW Pick!

  3. I’ve not heard of this one, but I love Greek mythology as well so I might see what this one is about :) Awesome choice! Will be adding to my tbr

    Janina
    My WWl!

  4. Megan K. says:

    I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this one, so I’m quite excited to get started! I agree, the book sounds different in a good way. In curious to see how the retelling will work out, since I’m a huge Greek mythology fan (PERCY. JACKSON. Need I say more?). Great pick!

  5. sbbcreviews says:

    I’m pretty sure I already have this one on my to-read list. I know I love the sound of it and I’d love to read it when it comes out. I hope you enjoy reading it too!
    Come check out my WOW post.

  6. Yeah, I do think the love triangle seems interesting in this. Not only is it two girls and one guy, but it sounds like the focus is on the one fighting to be the chosen lover instead of having all the power and having to decide between the two. Huh. Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint!
    (No WoW here, just thought I’d stop by!)

  7. Maria@Queen of All She Reads says:

    This does sound intriguing and I like the tie into greek mythology. I also like the cover – it’s understated but very interesting

    Here’s my WoW

  8. Ooh. This sounds really good. I love retellings. The cover is pretty too.

    My WoW

  9. Tiffany Drew says:

    I’m with you, not really anything grasping at me desperately telling me to read it, but it does have some interesting twists going on. I think I’ll give it a go too! Great choice.

    My WoW

  10. Definitely sounds interesting, I will have to read your review to see what ya think of it.

    Thanks for stopping by :)

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

  11. Misty Baker says:

    Ok so… I would have been sold at the cover. (I’m such a cover slut. lol) BUT… I am an absolute NUT when it comes to Greek Mytho. I gobble it up any chance I can get so this one will definitely be making my TBR. Thanks for sharing.

    Misty @ KindleObsessed
    My WoW

  12. Sounds interesting .. Not sure if it’s my kind of book, but that cover is enough for me to want to read it anyway, ha ha. I love it!
    My WoW

  13. So excited for this one! :D

    Courtney Ann @ Rondo of a Possible World
    Waiting on Wednesday

  14. Cecelia says:

    Oh, I like the Orpheus and Eurydice thing… but I am with you and have serious love triangle fatigue. I’ll probably keep and eye on this and see what others say. Nice pick!

    If you’d like, you can check out my WoW here.

  15. I just got a copy of this. Can’t wait to dig in. It sounds so good! Great pick!

    Check out my WoW!

  16. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #46 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

