Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More or Less Than I Did

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post is for the Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More and/or Less Than I Actually Did. I decided to divide this into five books I thought I’d enjoy more and five books I thought I’d enjoy less. Let’s start with my pleasant surprises!

toptentuesday

1) Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins :: I haven’t had the best of luck with angel books, and while this one had some aspects that I didn’t like, for the most part this was a title that I really enjoyed. I can’t wait to read Sweet Peril! [REVIEW]

2) Envy (Fury #2) by Elizabeth Miles :: Fury was disappointingly slow, and I really didn’t like any of the characters. Envy, on the other hand, was much more action-packed and really raised the stakes. I’m looking forward to the final book, Eternity. [REVIEW]

3) Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer :: Sci-Fi isn’t a genre I really like at all, and I was worried about the synopsis, which featured cyborgs, people on the moon, and intergalactic struggles. However, I absolutely LOVED this, so my fears were completely unfounded! [REVIEW]

4) Erebos by Ursula Poznanski :: A definite “boy” book (if you believe in labels), in that it prominently features a video game that is completely and utterly engrossing. Much of the book takes place in said video game (think of it as an RPG where you’re almost becoming your character). The main character also starts out as a complete jerk, but really grows on you. Or, at least, he grew on me! [REVIEW]

5) The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1) by Julie Kagawa :: Vampires and dystopians are two of the most over-used genres available in the YA market, but she managed to do something very unique with them, and the second book, The Eternity Cure, was even better. I’m now a firm believer in all things Kagawa! [REVIEW]

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

toptentuesday2

1) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins :: Look, I need to be honest. This book depressed me SO much, I could barely get through it. I wanted to love it – expected to love it (since so many other folks had), but alas, it just was not for me. I only read the first one, and am perfectly content with that. [NO REVIEW]

2) Dark Lord of Derkholm by Diana Wynne Jones :: I adored Howl’s Moving Castle, so went into this one thinking I’d also love it. But I didn’t. I found it darker and more problematic, particularly with one plot point involving Derk’s daughter. It was still okay, but nothing fabulous. [REVIEW]

3) The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter :: Oh, I had SUCH hope for this book! But I had a big problem with Kate earning her immortality by passing tests based around the Seven Deadly Sins, and I had a really big issue with the fact that the gods/goddesses seemed to willingly work and “serve” Henry (aka Hades). Her concepts of the gods just really did not mesh with mine. I also hated the way Kate’s character devolved as the series went on. [REVIEW]

4) Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen :: I love retellings, but I really did not love this one. Scarlet was grating, crass, and had a major martyr complex that drove me absolutely crazy. Throw in a love triangle (in which she basically used one guy to make the other jealous) and I was pretty much in a constant state of annoyance the entire book. [REVIEW]

5) Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas :: Celaena was supposed to be a kick-ass girl! The best assassin to ever assassinate! But, alas, that’s not really what we saw in the book. I still liked it, but really was hoping to love it. I do want to read the sequel, though. Maybe we’ll have more assassinating, less love triangle? [REVIEW]

What were your choices this week? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More or Less Than I Did

  1. I didn’t think I’d love Cinder as much as I did, either! Cyborgs/the plague weren’t my favorite topics; but I ended up loving Cinder and The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series now! :)

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    Cinder surprised me as well! Fantastic list.

  3. I was surprised by Cinder too. I was so sure that I wouldn’t like it, but I loved it!

    Oh, and I love that you just admitted that you didn’t like The Hunger Games! :) Love the honesty. I loved the book, but I totally understand not liking books that everyone else is into. :)

  4. I haven’t read any of these books yet, except for Hunger Games. (I know, it’s sad..) But I really enjoyed reading Hunger Games, except the last book :)

  5. Rebecca says:

    I completely agree with you about Throne Of Glass. I was so looking forward to that book, and it was a huge disappointment. I could not stand the heroine. She was the definition of a “too perfect” character, and she contradicts herself all the time. I had the same reservations about The Immortal Rules and Cinder, but I ended up adoring both of them.

  6. marissa says:

    Cinder made my list too! And I’m a Throne of Glass super fan bummer that it didnt’ click for you.
    My Top Ten

  7. Not surprised that people love Cinder so much. Am surprised you didn’t like Scarlet. First time I hear anything bad about it. Thanks for sharing!

    My TTT

  8. Quinn says:

    That’s exactly why I’ve never read The Hunger Games. I’ve tried reading it a few times, and even after the first few pages I get all depressed.

    I also felt the same way about Cinder. But I am so glad I read it because I love it (one of my favorite series right now).

    I’m sorry to hear that about Scarlet. It is a book I want to read, because I love Robin Hood, but now I’m sort of nervous about it.

    Great list!

    • Merin says:

      Lots of people loved Scarlet, but there were a number of things that just did not work for me personally. She also has an odd way of speaking; every time she’d say “were” instead of “was” gave me hives!

  9. I need to read Sweet Evil, I have had it on my kindle for a while now! I LOVED Cinder it is ony of my favorites, I was hesitant to start it but so glad I did.

  10. I agree with Throne of Glass being less amazing that I thought it would be. I would have liked to see more Celaena in action and less love triangle crap in the book as well.
    Check out my TTT.

  11. Rochelle says:

    I felt the same way about Throne of Glass, boring.

  12. sashandem says:

    I’ve heard a lot of people were disappointed in Throne of Glass. :(

  13. Book Blather says:

    So many of these are still on my TBR pile! The Goddess Test was a fail for me too, too bad. I’m worried about starting the Hunger Games trilogy now, I don’t want to ruin the films! Lol.

  14. Nicole says:

    Aww I’m sad you didn’t enjoy The Hunger Games or Throne of Glass that much. I really enjoyed these books but hey, it happens. The hype machine can make all the difference too. I am excited about your pleasant surprises tho! All but Cinder I haven’t read yet, so I am glad to hear they exceeded your expectations!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  15. Oh my gosh, you didn’t read the Hunger Games trilogy? What a horrible person you are! Haha, just kidding. I always admire people who can be honest when they dislike something that everyone else seems to love. If you don’t like, who cares? That’s your opinion! Maybe the movies will work out better for you?

    The rest of these I haven’t read, but I definitely have plans to read Cinder. I don’t think I’ve seen a single negative thing about that series. I’m really interested to get my hands on it and see what I think. I mean cyborgs, really?! I just have to try and be careful not to build too many expectations that it will be amazing based off what everyone else says, otherwise I’ll be setting it up for disaster!

    • Merin says:

      I actually really liked The Hunger Games film. No one was more surprised than I was!

      And yes, setting up too high of expectations can be a dangerous thing.

  16. Jessica says:

    I haven’t had a chance to read Cinder or Sweet Evil yet, but both are on my TBR list! I liked Goddess Test, but it’s not one of my favorite series.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  17. Lyn says:

    Man, most of the books I have in common with you are flopped on my list! I wish I had liked Cinder more, and I was amazed that I liked The Hunger Games!

    Great list!

  18. So many problems with The Goddess Test :P Oh well. Moving on, I still want to read Throne of Glass. I don’t know what it is with assassins that appeals to me, but it sounds awesome.

  19. Ems says:

    I’m with you on Sweet Evil. I thought I had that book pegged, but I was so wrong about it. I ended up loving it.

  20. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #47 –

  21. Merin, I love that you didn’t like the Hunger Games(that sounded strange haha…). Even though I LOVED it I really enjoy finding people that didn’t like books I love, it’s my favorite part about books. The perspectives are so different :) I didn’t expect to love Cinder either… I can’t believe we waited so long to read it !!!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

