Top Ten Light and Fun Reads

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

I missed last week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, but rejoin the meme this week with my Top Ten Light and Fun Reads. I actually had a lot of trouble coming up with titles to share today, because I wanted to choose some titles I don’t always showcase (so, no Percy Jackson, although I think The Lightning Thief would definitely fit). I ultimately had to include some titles I’ve used on previous lists, because I couldn’t think of any others to include, which just proves that light and fun isn’t really something I read a ton of. I should remedy that! Anyway, here are my choices for this week, including two that may raise a few eyebrows because they’re not a genre I showcase on this blog at ALL.

howmysummerHow My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
A fun road trip book wherein the main character finds herself.

suddenlyroyalSuddenly Royal by Nichole Chase
Reminiscent of The Princess Diaries, this was a really fun read with a great main character and fabulous romance. Prince Yummy!

poisonPoison by Bridget Zinn
A fun fantasy with a sassy main character and cool potions making.

alsoknownasAlso Known As by Robin Benway
Laugh-out-loud funny in places with a fabulous main character and sweet romance.

confessionsConfessions of An Angry Girl by Louise Rozett
Equal parts humorous, touching, and fun.

gallaghergirls1The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter
I have only read the first two, but “light” and “fun” definitely fit Cammie and Co!

croakCroak by Gina Damico
Like a little morbidness with your humor? Then this book’s for you!

ranma1/2Ranma ½ (Volume 1) by Rumiko Takahashi
I don’t really do the manga thing, but this one was really funny! I’m glad it was required for my Fantasy Lit course.

lastrealcowboySilhouette Romance Novels
I’m partial to the “Intimate Moments” line, which I devoured in middle and high school (the one pictured is one of my favorites!). These are the epitome of mindless reads, at least for me. I still consider them a major guilty pleasure. :D

I realize that’s only nine items, but if you count my not-so-sneaky mention of the Percy Jackson books above, then that’s ten, right? I had a serious problem developing this list. Someone rec me some light and fun reads, stat!

What made your list this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Top Ten Light and Fun Reads

  1. Rory says:

    I do like a little morbidness in my humor, which means now I will have to investigate croak. I have a feeling this is going to be one of those TTT weeks where I do not recognize any of the recommendations (this is a good thing though…).

    • Merin says:

      Croak was awesome. It’s the first in the series, and I liked Scorch equally as much. The last one comes out in September and I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Lucy says:

    Fun list! These are my kind of comfort reads. Love Robin Benway, and Croak, Summer, and Royal look like a blast too.

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I love a good comfort read. I want to read Also Known As and How My Summer Went Up In Flames. They look good fun!

  4. Ranma 1/2 is great. I don’t normally read a lot of manga but I’ve read several volumes of that one and watched the entire anime series.

  5. Candice says:

    Suddenly Royal sounds right up my alley! I absolutely LOVED Princess Diaries. Poison was also really fun! Great list!

  6. Rebecca says:

    Ah, Poison is perfect for this list! How did I forget it? I’m really eager to read How My Summer Went Up in Flames. Nice list! :D

  7. Rachel says:

    A few of these books are on my TBR list! I have How My Summer Went Up in Flames, so I’ll be reading that one soon. I also want to read Confessions of an Angry Girl because I’ve heard good things about that one. Great list!

  8. I’ve read Croak and I really liked it, but I don’t remember it that well unfortunately. I hate book amnesia. I haven’t read Poison and Also Known As, both of which look awesome. I definitely have to check those out :D

  9. Quinn says:

    Haha. I totally included Percy Jackson. Oh and Also Know As and I’d Tell You. They are so much fun and definitely made it onto my TTT post. I bought Suddenly Royal and hope to get to that one soon. It looks like so much fun.

  10. emziixgx says:

    Interesting to see Galagher girls made your list, the first one was quite fun but the get a bit more serious I think

  11. Great list, I have How My Summer Went Up in Flames and Confessions of an Angry Girl on my TBR list.

  12. I just bought Also Know As! :)

  13. I used to be obsessed with Harlequins. My high school boyfriends mother was OBSESSED and used to be subscribed to the mail order so she woud get boat loads of them weekly… and they are so easy to read. I really want to read The Gallagher Girls and Confessions of an angry girl… too many books :S
    p.s last book push of the week… i SWEAR. dance of the red death is on edelweiss… harper ;) … *runs away quickly*

    • Merin says:

      I am actually really glad you told me! I want to read this one SO BADLY. This – and Thornhill by Kathleen Peacock – were the two I wanted to show up on Edelweiss the most. So, in this case – THANKS! :D

  14. As you know, you’re not the only one who had trouble with this TTT! At least you came up with nine/ten! I haven’t read any of these (just like I haven’t read many light and fun reads in general), though there are some on my TBR list (Croak, Poison). Hopefully I get around to reading them soon. Maybe if I read some light and fun stuff I’d find out I like it? Only one way to find out!

  15. MsJohannah says:

    Croak is awesome! I haven’t read the second one yet. I also love the intimate moments books – guilty pleasure over here also!

  16. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #49 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

