Random Reads #3 :: June 2013

randomreadsbanner

Random Reads is a monthly meme hosted by Sarah at I’m Loving Books.  This feature is to get us reading a random book within the month that is in our TBR stack.

This will be my third month participating in Random Reads. Last month, I read and reviewed Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan [REVIEW]. I actually really liked this book! I found it a great mix of mystery, suspense, romance and humor, and it actually found a way to deal with some pretty serious subjects, too.

As always, I used random.org to select my Random Reads book. If you’d like to participate, here are the (super easy) directions:

  1. If you’re on Goodreads, enable sorting to your to-read shelf (you should see numbers next to each book now).
  2. Go to random.org and type in the Min as 1 and the Max as how ever many books are on your to-read shelf.
  3. Scroll down to the book matching the number random.org picks.
  4. Post and link up.
  5. Read and be merry.

This month, random.org selected #81 (of 999):

randomreads3So my June Random Reads pick is The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove by Lauren Kate, which has been on my to-read list since February 2, 2012. I actually own this book (I’ll need to dig it out from the bottom of my staggeringly high to-read pile), so won’t have to borrow it from the library like I usually do. It will also be my first ever book by Lauren Kate. Anyone read this one? What did you think?

If you’re participating in Random Reads this month, do link me up to your post so I can see what you’ll be reading!

signature2

This entry was posted in Random Reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Random Reads #3 :: June 2013

  1. I like the cover, looking forward to your review!

  2. Lisa says:

    Ooo, that one sounds really interesting. I hadn’t even heard of it before you posted this. I can’t wait to see how you like it. (:

  3. Adriana says:

    I am so doing this now! Love the cover. I thought that author’s name sounded familiar. She is the one who wrote Fallen with that pretty memorable cover. I hope you like it (:

    • Merin says:

      Oh, yay! I really like this “meme” because it gives you an excuse to read a book that’s gotten buried on your to-read list. Link me up to your post once you make one, okay? :)

  4. MsJohannah says:

    Random reads sounds like fun! I might have to do it one of these days!

    • Merin says:

      It’s a really great way to get to books that otherwise get forgotten. If you ever do decide to participate, please link me up! :)

  5. Haven’t read this one yet, but your review of Team Human convinced me to add it to my TBR list. In fact, I’m using it for my “humorous” read for the YA Book Club challenge on Goodreads. :-)

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #53 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

