Month of Me 2013

monthofmebanner

I’ve been talking about my Month of Me for a while now, and am so excited that June is finally here! First off, I want to give credit where credit is due for this idea, so Month of Me was created by Cassi at Galavanting Girl Books. She celebrates her Me Month in May, but – because my birthday is June 15th – I shall be doing mine during the month of June.

Month of Me is a month devoted to the books I WANT to read, instead of those I feel like I “have” to read. There will be some galleys read – I am particularly excited about Belladonna by Fiona Paul and will also be reading Confessions of An Almost-Girlfriend by Louise Rozett for a blog tour stop – but everything else will be read solely because I want to. I cannot tell you how excited I am to finally cross things off my to-read list that are actual books I own and/or want to check out from the library!

So, without further adieu, let the Month of Me begin!

signature2

This entry was posted in Month of Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Month of Me 2013

  1. Sounds like fun! I hope the books you want to read don’t disappoint and you have a wonderful birthday on the 15th! :)

  2. Molli says:

    Merin, I love this idea SO SO much. I hope you have an absolute blast. :)

  3. This is a GREAT idea, I should do this too. I end up reading a lot of books that I have to review, instead of what I feel like reading.

    • Merin says:

      It’s so easy to get caught up in review titles. I think it plays into the whole numbers game: no new reviews = less followers. And it seems like reviews for newly released and/or not-yet-released books draw the most attention. But I have such a huge to-read pile (well, actually two piles, since my giant one fell over and I remade it into two smaller stacks) that I’m really excited to finally get to some of them. :)

      Btw, I can NEVER comment on your blog because it says my comment contains banned words. I wanted to tell you that I fall for the girls in pretty dresses covers every single time, too!

  4. Adriana says:

    I love this idea! I’m kind of doing the same by reading a massive amount of books I’ve been wanting to read for awhile but of course there is always that addition of books you “have to read” It’s also nice to read books you actually own… I hope you go crazy this month and read a lot of wonderful books :D

  5. Month of Me sounds awesome! I think I’ll have my own in the month of Dec (my birthday month)! Hope you have fun reading all the books you want to read!

  6. Yay! A fellow Gemini (my birthday is on the 12th of this month)! This is such a great idea, but June is kind of already shot for me because I’ve fallen so behind on reading due to a lot of family obligations, like two graduations. I have some library books at home that are about to run out of renewals, plus some books for review. Maybe I’ll save all of the books I’m dying to read for the Summer Lovin’ read-a-thon.

  7. Lisa says:

    This is such a wonderful idea. It seems like something fun to do specifically around a birthday too. Whether it’s for the whole month or just a week or whatever. I think I’ll be keeping this idea in my mind. I hope you enjoy all your books! (:

  8. Quinn says:

    This will be so much fun. Hey, my birthday is in June too. June 11. June birthdays are the best!

    • Merin says:

      Ha, yay! I do like having a June birthday, although I was always bummed that I could never have a party during the school year. No cupcakes for my classmates!

      • Quinn says:

        Aww. Where I’m from school goes to mid-to-late June, so I was able to bring in cupcakes. Did you bring them in the last day of school, or something?

      • Merin says:

        Nope. I never brought anything in. I always had a party, though, so would invite some of my classmates to that. :)

  9. I think this is a great idea, Merin! I’m the weird book blogger who is reluctant to accept or seek out books to review, simply because I basically always would rather read what I feel like reading, when I feel like reading it. But I know that isn’t the case for the majority of bloggers, so it’s nice that you’re able to use this month to read what you truly what to read and things you know you’ll enjoy. Enjoy your month!

  10. Pingback: May Wrap-Up Post | Once Upon a Prologue

  11. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #53 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

