Top Ten Books Featuring Traveling

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s topic is the Top Ten Books Featuring Travel In Some Way, which I actually had a lot of trouble with initially until I realized I was WAY over-thinking this. Turns out I have read plenty of books that feature travel – one of my favorite series EVER has traveling in pretty much every single installment – and I didn’t have to think about this in terms of road trips or anything else. So, here’s my list!

lightningthiefThe Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Percy and friends travel all across the US (from east coast to west coast) in this book, plus take a trip into the Underworld. Actually, every single book in this series except book five involves travel of some sort, sequel series included.

39cluesThe 39 Clues series by Various Authors
Dan and Amy Cahill travel all over the world in search of clues to a family secret in these books. There’s planes, trains and automobiles (and boats!) galore.

intothearmsInto the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport by Deborah Oppenheimer & Mark Jonathan Harris
This book details the journeys of several Jewish children who were allowed to leave their countries and travel to England during WWII.

thehobbitThe Hobbit: Or, There and Back Again by J.R.R. Tolkien
Bilbo’s journey through Middle-earth is basically a traveloge, complete with his complaining the entire way.

thethiefThe Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
Gen’s journey via horseback to find a hidden temple is definitely one of the best books I’ve read. I really need to read the rest of the series.

sweetevilSweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
There’s a pretty important road trip at the beginning of this book that helps bring the two main characters together.

bookofwondersThe Book of Wonders by Jasmine Richards
This MG book is set during the time of Sinbad, and includes a journey by boat to a deserted island.

venomVenom by Fiona Paul
Ever wanted to travel via gondola? Cass does quite a bit of that in this book!

nobodysprincess nobodysprize
 Nobody’s Princess and Nobody’s Prize by Esther Friesner
Join Helen before she was the face that launched a thousand ships as she meets Greek heroes aplenty and even joins Jason’s crew on the search for the Golden Fleece.

darkestmindsThe Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
Ruby and company set out from a terrible camp in search of a safe haven in the woods. There’s lots of journey-by-car in this book, although that’s certainly not the main point.

So there are my picks for this week. What did you choose? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Top Ten Books Featuring Traveling

  1. Great list! I didn’t think to mention anything Middle Earth this week but I totally agree about The Hobbit being a great travelogue across Middle Earth :)

    My TTT

  2. “Complete with his complaining the entire way”- thank you! Bilbo is such a whiner.

  3. Gabbie says:

    I loved Percy Jackson–and I must get to some of these that you recommended! I love traveling books–they put a spin on things. Thanks so much for sharing!

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  4. I should check out The 29 Clues series, it sounds really good! :) Thanks for stopping by my TTT list!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  5. ChrissiReads says:

    Great list! I haven’t read any of these books. I like the look of Sweet Evil!

  6. Katie says:

    Great Picks! I love all things Percy Jackson!! New to your blog, im in love! sooo cute! Check out Our TTT ~Katie @ Inkk

  7. KateB says:

    Gondolas? Oh my… I knew there was a reason I wanted to read Venom! Great list!

  8. Rory says:

    The Hobbit is a classic and I agree – he whined (and rambled) to entire way!

    • Merin says:

      He really did. I mean, I’m not sure I would have been all stoic had it been me making the trek, but at some point you just have to realize that you’re not going to get back home for a bit and deal with it!

  9. Sapir says:

    I really want to read Sweet Evil. I’ve heard so much about it!!
    Great list and thanks for sharing (:

    Old follower!

    Sapir @ Diary of a Wimpy Teen Girl 

  10. Percy Jackson is a great pick. And I read The Hobbit from your list last year. Certainly a lot of travel in both.

  11. I included one of Tolkien’s books in my list too! Anything epic fantasy would suit this topic perfectly; so Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, or even Percy Jackson like you’ve used above. I need to pick up Darkest Minds too!

    My book blog: http://www.abookishbrit.com

  12. *smacks forehead* How in the WORLD could I have forgotten Tolkien?! This is an awesome list. I still need to read Sweet Evil, Darkest Minds, and Venom. Sigh. Someday! :D

    My TTT

  13. I have added The Darkest Minds and Stories of Kindertransport to my TBR… they sound amazing!

    • Merin says:

      Into the Arms of Strangers was heartbreaking. I couldn’t imagine sending my kids off to another country, but at the same time, they couldn’t NOT take that chance that they’d be safe. And some of the kids had really terrible times, too.

  14. Kerri says:

    Great list! I included The Hobbit also
    kerri @ Turn the Page Reviews

  15. I forgot about The Thief as well! That’s one of my top top top favourite books. I read the second one YEARS ago, but I definitely need to reread the entire series. <3 Percy Jackson.

  16. The Lightning Thief and the Hobbit! Love seeing these on here. The Thief was good as well but that series definitely got better as it progressed. Great list and thanks so much for stopping by!
    Bonnie @ Sweet Tidbits

  17. Nikki says:

    I almost put The Thief on my list, too! LOOOOVE that book. I seriously need to read the rest of the series as well, I’ve heard that the later books are even better (is that possible?!). Awesome list!!

  18. Quinn says:

    Initially I have a difficult time as well. I don’t really care for roadtrip books in general (I hated In Honor!!), but then I thought of some books that don’t really have road trips but there are travel aspects to them.

    I should have included Percy Jackson. Lots of travel going on there. Great picks!

    • Merin says:

      Interesting about In Honor! That’s one I’ve seen on quite a few lists today. But roadtrip books in general don’t really hook me in; there has to be something else going on to get me interested.

  19. nikihawkes says:

    The Book of Wonders looks awesome! I don’t know how that one hasn’t been on my radar before now. Great list!

  20. terribruce says:

    LOL – initially I struggled with my list, too, then realized how many books I’d read had travel of some sort in them. That’s why I love TTT – always makes me think about what I read in different ways!

    Great list! Got some new suggestions for my TBR pile!

  21. Tsuki says:

    I’ve always wanted to read the 39 clues series but I just haven’t gotten to them. Great list!

    Tsuki’s TTT

  22. Great top ten! Darkest minds is on my TBR list:)

    My TTT:
    http://evelinesbooks.blogspot.nl/

  23. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #53 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

