Top Ten Beach Reads

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is our Top Ten Beach Reads. Being from St. Louis, beaches are a little hard to come by, and even if they weren’t, I don’t read a lot of what others would probably call “beach reads”. To me, a beach read is a fun, light contemporary novel, and, well, my “read” stack is sorely lacking in that department. When I do read contemporary books, I tend to gravitate towards those that deal with heavier subjects; not necessarily “issue” books, but not ones that would be called “light” or “fun” either. In other words, that was a really long-winded way of saying I had TONS of trouble with this topic. So here is my (probably unorthodox) list of “beach” reads; I am well aware that I need to read more contemporary books, so if you have some recs that you’d highly recommend, feel free to leave them in the comments!

audreywaitAudrey, Wait! by Robin Benway
This book is just really fun, with a lot of humor. There’s some serious stuff going on, but Audrey is just a really well-done and realistic character.

gallaghergirls1Gallagher Girls books by Ally Carter
I know the series gets darker, but the first two are definitely light and fun. I love Cammie and her group of girls, and the introduction of Zach. I can’t wait for more Zach!

percyjacksonbooksThe Percy Jackson & the Olympians series by Rick Riordan
Percy’s journey through a US where the Greek gods and goddesses still exist is chock full of adventure, humor, and fabulous characters. This is one of my favorite series ever. ♥

stargirlStargirl by Jerry Spinelli
This one deals with the very serious topic of peer pressure, but there were aspects of this that were fun and carefree, particularly before Stargirl starts to cave to Leo’s whims.

howlsmovingcastleHowl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Um, I just really adore Howl and Sophie. There’s a lot of humor in this book, and Sophie is an amazing character. Even though the book is kind of confusing, I still think it qualifies as a beach read.

croakCroak by Gina Damico
The first book in this series especially is quite light-hearted, which is impressive since our main character is a reaper and death is ever-present. I loved the mix of darkness and levity, which is done quite deftly here.

phantomtollboothThe Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
Maybe it’s the play on words that happens throughout this book, but I found myself cracking up at several points.

somethingstrangeSomething Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard
Again with the darker subject matter, but Eleanor is a fabulous main character. This book was compulsively readable with a great air of mystery and danger.

confessionsConfessions of An Angry Girl by Louise Rozett
Oh, this book. Rose is incredibly realistic and dealing with massive issues concerning her dad’s death. It’s not light or fun – even if Rose does make the reader crack up on several occasions. But it’s SO GOOD and, really, you need to read it.

artofwishingThe Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar
This was a really unique mix of magic and contemporary fiction, and features a paranormal creature not usually seen in YA: a genie! The romance is very contemporary in feel, while Oliver obviously has magical abilities, considering what he is. So much fun!

So what did you choose this week? Please link me! And make sure you leave any recommendations for light and/or fun contemps!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Top Ten Beach Reads

  1. The Percy Jackson books would definitely guarantee a fun & light read at the beach or wherever. I kind of blitzed the first four books a few years ago (and definitely not around the summertime) but they’re great fun. Which reminds me that I still need to catch up on Heroes of Olympus (haven’t read the third book yet)

    My TTT

  2. the percy jackson books made my list too! I love that they take place over summer break perfect for the beach.
    My Top Ten

  3. Rebecca says:

    I remember reading The Phantom Tollbooth when I was in 5th grade; I don’t remember much of the actual book, but I think I loved it. I really want to pick up something by Ally Carter! Nice list.

  4. KateB says:

    I adore Howl and Sophie too! So I’m thrilled that you put them on your list That book is fantastic and one I think is so very beachy!
    I also think the Gallagher Girls is a great one for summer too!

  5. ChrissiReads says:

    Great list! I really want to read Stargirl and The Art of Wishing sounds so good! :D

  6. Lucy says:

    Fun choices! I really want to check out the Confessions series soon. Audrey Wait is awesome too.

  7. lipsyy says:

    I absolutely LOVE Stargirl…one of my all-time favourites! Something Strange & Deadly looks great too.

  8. Ohhh! The Art of Wishing! I completely forgot about that one, and I’m really hoping to get a chance to read it soon! And then Stargirl looks great as well!!

    Fantastic list!
    My Top Ten

  9. sashandem says:

    The Percy Jackson series is so great! It’s such a great because you can get lost in it!

  10. Krista says:

    I don’t know why I didn’t pick PJ. That series really is perfect for the beach. And, I’m getting ready to start Something Strange and Deadly – the “Aim for the Knees” promo stuff has me intrigued!

    TTT on Krista’s Dust Jacket

  11. I included Percy Jackson as well. Great books. I read two and loved them both.

    My TTT

  12. I love The Phantom Tollbooth, it’s really a great little book. I have the Percy Jackson series as well as The Howl’s Moving Castle trilogy on my read soon list.
    My TTT.

  13. I love seeing your boo choices. A lot of them bring back memories because I’ve read them in the far past. I especially love the Percy Jackson one.

    Followed!
    Check out my TTT post!
    – Nova @ Musings of a Blogder

  14. Quinn says:

    Whenever I see Audrey Wait mentioned on TTTs, I get so frustrated with myself because I still haven’t read that one. I LOVED Benway’s AKA, so I don’t know why I have been dragging my feet with that one.

    Oh, and definitely Percy Jackson! I should have thought of that one. I’m thinking of starting Stargirl soon. I’ve heard great things!

    • Merin says:

      I really liked Stargirl a lot. And you NEED to read Audrey, Wait! That book is awesome. I loved all the music mixed into the story. I can’t wait to see what you think of it, when you finally get around to reading it. :)

  15. Percy Jackson Forever! I always read them when I’m on the beach or especially when I’m camping, late at night with a flashlight haha. I pretty much read those books everywhere though.

  16. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #54 | Read and Reviewed

  17. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon :: Day One AND Day Two | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

