Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s topic is the Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013. This was really easy to put together, especially since I make use of my “favorites” shelf on Goodreads whenever I read a book that really grabs me and sticks with me. A lot of these are sequels – I’ve done really well with sequels this year, in most cases coming away from them liking them more than the first book – and some are stand alone titles that I simply loved to pieces. Here are my picks, in no particular order:

siegeandstormSiege and Storm (Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo
I loved Shadow and Bone, but Siege and Storm was even better. This is such a unique world, with a very strong female character and lots of twists and turns. Fantasy at its finest!

confessions confessions
Confessions of An Angry Girl & Confessions of An Almost-Girlfriend
by Louise Rozett
Prior to reading these books, I never considered myself a fan of contemporaries. I’m still not sure it’s my favorite genre, but what I DO know is that I am a huge fan of Rose and Jamie and the characters that surround them. These are truly amazing books that everyone needs to read right now!

alsoknownasAlso Known As by Robin Benway
This book was cute and fun, with a lot of wit and heart. The romance was also well-written and I loved the main character’s spark. Robin Benway is one of my favorite authors of all time.

darktriumphDark Triumph (His Fair Assassins #2) by Robin LaFevers
This is another sequel that I think was even better than the first. It was darker and grittier than Grave Mercy, but Sybella’s story really hit me right in the feels. I love these books and can’t wait for the third!

shadowofblackbirdsIn the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
This is hands-down the best debut of 2013 that I’ve read. It was richly researched, and I loved the glimpses of paranormal interspersed with history. Mary Shelley Black is an amazing main character who you can’t help but love and root for. I loved every single second of this book.

ifIlieIf I Lie by Corrine Jackson
Talk about a book that made me feel! This one made me SO sad for Quinn, not only because of what she was dealing with in the fallout of her actions, but also the way her father viewed her. This book dealt with so many issues and handled them all splendidly.

cinderCinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer
Um, I wasn’t terribly sure about a fairytale retelling featuring a cyborg Cinderella, but Cinder quickly put those fears to rest.

eternitycureThe Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden #2) by Julie Kagawa
Another sequel that outshined its predecessor! I liked The Immortal Rules, but The Eternity Cure – for me – improved on pretty much everything. Allie was so strong, Jackal provided some much-needed humor, and I liked all the background information we got. And Kanin! Love him. ♥

vesselVessel by Sarah Beth Durst
This was such a unique book. I loved the setting, and Liyana’s strength and heart. And the way the mythology was developed was first-rate; all of the gods and goddesses were well-crafted, and I loved the rich history behind their actions and personalities.

oftritonOf Triton (Of Poseidon #2) by Anna Banks
Yep, another sequel that was better than the first book. I had some serious issues with Of Poseidon, but this one performed a complete 180, and I came away from it actually really liking the characters. They went through a lot of growth, and both Emma and Galen did some much-needed maturing. I’m looking forward to the third book.

So there are my choices this week! What are the best books of 2013 that you’ve read this year? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013

  1. Great list, we have the first two in common. Cinder’s a great read and but it was a 2012 for me. In the Shadow of Blackbirds is on my TBR list.

  2. Cinder and Also Known As made my list too, I’m looking forward to the next books by Marissa Meyer and Robin Benway! :) My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/06/24/top13/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Fabulous list. I need to crack on with reading some series.

  4. Yay for S&S, it’s on my list, too! :D
    There a lot of books on this list that I want to read. I’m happy to know they are Top Ten worthy!
    You can find my TTT post here: http://wp.me/p3Bl4t-6V
    :)

  5. Rebecca says:

    Shadow and Bone, Dark Triumph & The Eternity Cure are all on my list as well! 2013 has turned out to be a great year for sequels, hasn’t it? Happy reading!

  6. Maria says:

    Woot, I need to read Dark Triumph! Yay to Cinder & The Eternity Cure :D

    my TTT

  7. Lucy says:

    If I Lie is so good! And I loved AKA too. The Confessions series sounds like a must-read.

  8. I haven’t read any of those, but I’ve heard great things! Cinder is on my TBR list as well as Of Poseidon and it’s sequel Of Triton! Great list :)

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  9. Molli says:

    I also loved Dark Triumph, and Siege and Storm. I read If I Lie last year, and it REALLY resonated with me. I donated my copy to the library so others could read and love it. I have been meaning to read the Confessions of a… books!

    Molli | Once Upon a Prologue

  10. I still need to read Confessions of an Angry Girl. I have the sequel on my Kindle! I need to read Cinder, too. I’ve heard nothing but good things. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  11. sashandem says:

    Haven’t had the chance to read any of these yet but looking forward to getting to them!

  12. booklover217 says:

    The Eternity Cure is on my TBR list :) Thanks for sharing.

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-ive-read-so-far-in-2013/

  13. Lisa says:

    I LOVED In the Shadow of Blackbirds. It’s one of my favorites of the year and on my list as well. So good. That’s the only one from your list I’ve read, though I want to read a great deal of them.

  14. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I’ve heard really good things about Shadow & Bone and The Immortal Rules, so I think I’ll have to read them sooner rather than later. Great list!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

