Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is my Top Ten Most Intimidating Books. I’m not really easily intimidated by books, regardless of their size (I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, after all, and those latter books were mammoth), so today I decided to focus on those books I’m nervous to read because of how highly recommended they seem to be among my friends and others whose opinions I trust. It’s worth noting that I actually own almost all of these, too, so they’ve just been languishing on my book shelves or sitting in my to-read piles (the large one fell over, see, so now I have two somewhat smaller piles instead). Obviously I do plan on reading them – you know, eventually – but I’m just not sure when I’ll get around to it.

Anyway, here are this week’s choices!

unearthlyUnearthly by Cynthia Hand

daughtersmokeboneDaughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

angelfallAngelfall by Susan Ee

seraphinaSeraphina by Rachel Hartman

betweenshadesofgrayBetween Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

deliriumDelirium by Lauren Oliver

ifIstayIf I Stay by Gayle Forman

faultinourstarsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

skyiseverywhereThe Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

tigerlilyTiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Which titles did you choose this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

  1. I never really thought about it but I guess that’s why I haven’t read The Fault in Our Stars; everyone who’s read it has loved it and I’m afraid I wouldn’t like it as much or something…

    My TTT

  2. PLEASE read Delirium and If I Stay! I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of them – don’t let them intimidate you!

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Great list! I know what you mean about feeling intimidated because everyone loved them. It’s so hard when you don’t get why people have been raving about a certain book!

  4. I’ve seen The Fault in Our Stars on so many Top Tens–it used to intimidate me too but I’m so glad I’ve finally read it! My Top Ten

  5. Rebecca says:

    Between Shades of Gray & The Fault In Our Stars are really good, I encourage you to pick them up! Trust me, you won’t regret it (though you may be a little teary lol). Happy reading!

  6. I haven’t read many of these but Delirium series are great. I was a little reluctant myself but I got over it fast, they really are awesome books.

    My TTT
    My DESIGNS blog

  7. I am also worried about a few of these! But only TFiOS made the list. My TTT post can be found here: http://wp.me/p3Bl4t-7I :)

  8. YESYESYES, Angelfall on someone else’s list as well. So intimidated by that because it seems EVERYONE loves it.

  9. If I Stay is one of my favourite YA contemporaries. I will be reading very soon, so you should definitely get onto it soon! It’s a fairly short, yet very endearing book about grief and loss.

    My book blog: http://www.abookishbrit.com

  10. Ciara_H says:

    TFiOS didn’t make my list today (it was narrowing it down to just 10 when there are dozens of books that intimidate me) but I can see why you’d be put off reading it. I originally planned to read it this summer but after coming across it so many times on various TTT lists and blogs I’m starting to move it down my TBR list.

    • Merin says:

      I know. I just don’t even know if I can bring myself to read that book. To be honest, I’ve never read ANYTHING by John Green. I don’t know if I’m more worried about TFiOS specifically or just him in general!

  11. Georgina says:

    i still haven’t read the fault in our stars, it’s been on previous TTTs but i am becoming quite intimidated from how big it’s getting and because everyone knows i’m a booky they all ask me if i’ve read it :(

  12. sashandem says:

    THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE! SQUEE!

  13. Andi ABCs says:

    Unearthly is on my TBR list. It does worry me that everyone loved the series so much.

    My TTT List

  14. Krista says:

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone wasn’t really my thing. Unearthly, however, I ended up liking more than I thought I would. Good luck with your list!

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  15. I’m surprised how many lists this week have Daughter of Smoke & Bone on them. I mean don’t get me wrong I can understand why people would be intimidated by it but it’s still a bit of a shock. I’m also not sure about Tiger Lilly, I just don’t know if it will be all that good.
    My TTT.

  16. Emily J. says:

    So many of these are super-good. Seraphina is one of my recent favorites! Don’t let the hype keep you away!

  17. Delirium is really good. It’s not an action-packed dystopian, but the idea is so unique and the characters are relatable and likeable. I totally understand being terrified of reading books that are super hyped up though. I always worry that I’ll hate it and then all my book loving friends will banish me!

    My Top Ten

  18. booklover217 says:

    You should really read The Sky Is Everywhere and If I Stay. Both of these books are so good and really worth checking out! Great picks!

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-most-intimidating-books/

  19. Candice says:

    While I loved a lot of these books, I can see how they’d be intimidating! They’re all so well-loved; I get afraid reading books like these because what if I’m that odd man out who doesn’t like them?! However, I think you should try them… they’re fabulous!

    • Merin says:

      I know. I hate being the black sheep. It’s not like I realistically think people will shun me or whatever, but I hate being the one who didn’t like something amongst my circle of friends.

  20. Quinn says:

    I should have included Between Shades of Gray, Tiger Lily and If I Stay. I’m totally intimidated about reading those.

    I’m generally not intimidated by large books, either. Harry Potter all the way!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

