Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon :: Day Four

summerlovinSummer Lovin’ runs from July 1-7. This is a no-pressure Read-a-Thon – the point is to have fun and to tackle your summer TBR list. Set your own goals and enjoy participating in posts, challenges, and giveaways! It will all culminate in a 24-hr marathon read-a-thon, from Saturday July 6th at 10am EST, to Sunday July 7th at 10am EST. Sign ups are open through July 6th!

tearsonmypillow

So the goal today is to share a quote from our current read. I am going to be upfront with you all and admit that I am failing spectacularly at this read-a-thon, because I am still on the exact same book I started with! However, the section I just read really got to me, because Janelle (our MC) is thinking back to how important her missing friend, Cecily, is, and this sort of sums up the way Janelle works in one fell swoop. NOTE: This is more like a favorite page than a favorite quote. Apparently I fail at picking quotes, too!

I can picture [Cecily], just the other night when we were watching It’s A Wonderful Life with all those people seated on what used to be the Chargers’ football field. … There was an excited anticipation in the hushed tones people used to talk to one another. Not because of the movie but more because they were excited to do something. Anything was better than sitting around and thinking of what they’d lost.

When the movie was about to end and Struz came in and winked at me, it was almost a perfect moment. I was surrounded by friends, by people I care about, and for a minute, I forgot about everything that was wrong….

Cecily did that. She gave people something to look forward to–something to remind them they were alive.

That’s why I have to do this. To make sure the people I love are safe. It’s terrible and frightening and too much.

But I have no choice.

-pgs. 121-22 from Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris

The other thing we can talk about today are books that made us have ALL the feelings. So here are a few of my favorites:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  • The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials #3) by Philip Pullman
  • If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
  • Ordinary Magic by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway
  • The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3) by Rick Riordan
  • Confessions of An Almost-Girlfriend (Confessions #2) by Louise Rozett

I think it goes without saying that I’d recommend every single one of these!

signature2

This entry was posted in Reading Challenges and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon :: Day Four

  1. Pingback: Summer Lovin’ Read-a-thon :: Day Seven | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

