Stacking the Shelves #56

stsbanner

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can read more about the creation of Stacking the Shelves by visiting the official launch page here.

I can’t believe the month of July is almost over! I have to go back to work on August 6th, so that means my SUMMER is almost over. How did THAT happen? I’m not ready to go back at all. I still have so much to do to get ready for my students! Friday I went to a local Teacher Supply Store and spent far too much money on things for my classroom. Now I just need the custodians to finish cleaning my classroom so I can actually get in there to start prepping.

I really didn’t pick up that many new books in the past two weeks, which is good because I still have plenty to read. I have almost cleared out my Library Pile, though, so that’s exciting! I just have one book left to read (which I just picked up this week), and one other to finish. Success!

sts56

Library Picks/Received for Review:

Thank you to St. Martin’s and Paper Lantern Lit for the ARC/finished copies! Twenty Boy Summer was recommended to me by Molli at Once Upon A Prologue after I asked her which Sarah Ockler book I should read first. I really hope I like it, because I’ve heard lots of great things about her.

cruelbeauty uninvited panic persephonesorchard herdarkcuriosity

E-books/E-Galleys:

Thank you SO much to HarperTeen and its imprints! I am stupidly excited to read Her Dark Curiosity in particular, because I can’t wait to see how Juliet’s story continues.

I also picked up Season 10 of Law & Order: Criminal Intent from Amazon. I was a huge fan of this series until they started splitting the episodes between the two teams of detectives. So when I heard that the final season was going to feature a reunited Goren and Eames, I eagerly watched each of the episodes, and then waited extremely impatiently for the DVD release. Goren and Eames will forever be my favorite set of L&O detectives, although Benson and Stabler are a close second.

What did you get this week? Please link me! I love looking at everyone’s hauls.

Bi-Weekly Recap

07/07/13: Summer Lovin’ Read-a-thon Wrap-Up Post
07/08/13: Review of Unbreakable (Unraveling #2) by Elizabeth Norris
07/09/13: Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations
07/10/13: Waiting on Wednesday #56 – Broken by CJ Lyons
07/11/13: Review of Belladonna (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #2) by Fiona Paul
07/12/13: Book Blitz for Ravenhurst by Lorraine Beaumont
07/13/13: Review of The Theory of Everything by Kari Luna
07/15/13: Review of A Dawn Most Wicked (Something Strange and Deadly #0.5)
by Susan Dennard

07/16/13: Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition
07/17/13: Waiting on Wednesday #57 – Blythewood by Carol Goodman
07/18/13: Review of OCD, the Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn
07/19/13: Book Blitz Post for Glass Frost by Liz DeJesus
07/19/13: Review of The Show (Northwest Passage #3) by John A. Heldt

Upcoming Reviews

The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan
The Deepest Night (Sweetest Dark #2) by Shana Abe
Forevermore by Cindy Miles

signature2

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Stacking the Shelves #56

  1. hazelureta says:

    Awesome book haul! I totally want to read All Our Pretty Songs! So jealous you have an ARC. And I hope you enjoy reading Twenty Boy Summer. I’ve loved Ockler ever since I read that one. :)

    • Merin says:

      I am really excited to read All Our Pretty Songs. I’ve never received a finished copy in the mail before, so was really happy when I opened the package! And I figured it’s about time I read an Ockler book. I’m probably the only YA blogger in existence who hasn’t!

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    Brilliant book haul. I loved Twenty Boy Summer. It’s funny how holiday dates differ from country to country. I start my six week holiday from school (I work with 5-6 year olds) on Tuesday. I hope you’ve had a good break!

    • Merin says:

      We got out for the summer on May 24th, so I’ve had a nice break. It just always amazes me how fast that break goes! Enjoy yours while it lasts! :)

  3. Sofia says:

    I really want to read Twenty Boy Summer as well! Everyone have been recommending it to me, so I guess I really need to pick it up at some point. :) Happy reading!

  4. Estelle says:

    WOW! The first thing I thought when I came here was your awesome cute blog design :) Consider me another follower already!

    Anyway, interesting book haul! The cover of Cruel Beauty is really fascinating and amazing, I keep seeing it all the time in the Cover Madness Giveaway hops. Hope you enjoy your book!

  5. I added All Our Pretty Songs this week, too. I’m excited for Cruel Beauty, Panic, and The Uninvited. I still need to read The Madman’s Daughter, but Her Dark Curiosity has a gorgeous cover! Great haul!
    Natflix&Books’ StS

  6. I’m so excited to read Uninvited and Panic. Great haul and have fun reading!

  7. I haven’t heard of any of these but I hope you enjoy them. Happy reading.

    Tsuki’s STS

  8. Nicole says:

    Awesome haul! Yay for Her Dark Curiosity! I am currently listening to The Madman’s Daughter and when I’m not repulsed by whatever torturous thing is happening I am really enjoying it! I also can’t wait to read All Our Pretty Songs and Cruel Beauty! Enjoy!!

  9. I got All Our Pretty Songs and Shadows of Twilight last week! Forgot to put them in my haul. CRAP! Same with Persephone’s Orchard. Oh well! Happy reading! :)

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  10. Quinn says:

    I love L&O:CI, but it’s been ages since I’ve watched it. And I’m definitely behind. I did hear about them spiltting the episodes, though, and that annoyed me. Goran and Eames are definitely the best. Vincent D’Onofrio is amazing in that show.

    The cover for The Uninvited – seriously, I have major hair envy. Good luck getting ready for school to start. Happy reading!

    • Merin says:

      I know, right? Her hair is gorgeous.

      And D’Onofrio was the sole reason I watched CI in the first place. Goren is easily the best L&O detective of all time, even if he was a bit crazy. :)

  11. Kelly L. says:

    Yay for Cruel Beauty, Uninvited, and Her Dark Curiosity! I can’t wait to see those reviews.
    I’m also curious about Panic.
    Enjoy all your books & thanks for stopping by my STS! (:

  12. Wow,you picked up some awesome books. I don’t know if I’m more envious of Cruel Beauty or Twenty Boy Summer. Enjoy your books!

  13. WOW! I am a little envious of all those, no idea where I’d start. Happy reading

  14. Kathy Martin says:

    Nice assortment of books. We still have a month before the teachers report to work. I am still deep into vacation and vacation reading. Please come see what I added to my stacks at Ms. Martin Teaches Media and Inside of a Dog. Happy reading!

  15. The Dark Curiosity! OMG So want! Enjoy all that you got this week! Thanks for sharing and happy reading!

    Our STS

    MaryAnn
    Chapter by Chapter

  16. Ems says:

    I really need to read The Madman’s Daughter so that I can read Her Dark Curiosity. It looks great! Hope you enjoy your fantastic haul!

    Ems

  17. I LOVE the cover for Cruel Beauty! Her Dark Curiousity sounds interesting. Hope you love them both, along with your other new books!
    Here are my newest additions.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

