Random Reads #5 :: August 2013

randomreadsbanner

Random Reads is a monthly meme hosted by Sarah at I’m Loving Books.  This feature is to get us reading a random book within the month that is in our TBR stack.

If you’d like to participate in Random Reads, here are the (super easy) directions:

  1. If you’re on Goodreads, enable sorting to your to-read shelf (you should see numbers next to each book now).
  2. Go to random.org and type in the Min as 1 and the Max as how ever many books are on your to-read shelf.
  3. Scroll down to the book matching the number random.org picks.
  4. Post and link up.
  5. Read and be merry.

Last month I was supposed to read Velveteen by Daniel Marks. However, I really didn’t like this book at all, and DNFed at 56%. I couldn’t connect with our main character, Velvet, in any way shape or form, and didn’t like the way she treated others. She was, to put it bluntly, a bitch, and while sometimes I find myself interested enough to see what kind of personal revelations might come about to “redeem” a character, with Velvet I just found that I couldn’t care less, and wasn’t going to continue to read a book I didn’t like. Also, the entire book is a bit of a mess; there’s so much going on, a whole bunch of characters that were pretty one-dimensional, and – on top of it all – a severe case of insta-love. Just really not my thing at all. When I was watching my “time left” on my Kindle and lamenting how slowly the book was moving, that’s a sure sign I need to just stop and read something else. Hopefully August’s pick will be better.

This month, random.org chose #450 (out of 956):

randomreads5

So this month I will be reading Her Highness, the Traitor by Susan Higginbotham. This is definitely a change from the all YA, all the time zone I’ve been in of late, but I like historical fiction – particularly Tudor-era fiction – so am excited to give this a read. It’s been on my to-read list since March 14, 2012.

If you’re participating in Random Reads this month, do link me up to your post so I can see what you’ll be reading!

signature2

This entry was posted in Random Reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Reads #5 :: August 2013

  1. What a shame about Velveteen, I’m sorry you didn’t get on with it. My Random Read for this month was two numbers away from being the same book! I put last month’s on hold because although I wasn’t enjoying it I do want to finish it at some point, hoping this month’s book will hold my attention :)

    • Merin says:

      Yeah, it was just not a book I was going to be remotely interested in, hence the DNF. I very rarely DNF anything, so that should tell you how I felt about Velveteen.

  2. I don’t DNF books often either, but I recently decided that I need to do it more often. Life’s too short to slog through books I don’t like! Glad you got a book that looks good to you this month!!

    You can see my August Random Read here.

  3. I’ve heard of a lot of readers DNF Velveteen, it makes me weary to read it. But I know each reader is different and I may end up loving it – who knows! I need to dip my toes in the historical fiction waters. When I was a kid, I loved the Tudor era. Happy reading!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

