Waiting on Wednesday #63

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins (Putnam Juvenile):

rebelbelleHarper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I recently read Hex Hall, and loved the quick dialogue and the way Rachel Hawkins wrote the banter between the characters. Harper seems like another quick-witted character, just like Sophie, and the setting of this one – the deep south – sounds equally as awesome. I love the idea of a girl coming into some sort of paranormal powers, and being tasked with protecting someone she doesn’t like who she slowly falls for. It usually is the guy protecting the girl, so I love the change-up of gender roles as well.

Release Date: April 8, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #63

  1. Great pick! This is one I can’t wait to get my hands on but that’s a long wait until April!

    My WoW!

  2. Great pick! Sounds like so much fun (Hex Hall was fun, also), so I’ll add it on my list :)
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Great pick! I hope you enjoy reading it when it comes out.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  4. Lanaia says:

    I haven’t read anything by Rachel Hawkins yet :/ I will keep an eye on this one, it sounds good!

    My WoW

  5. georgiewhatshereads says:

    ~This doesn’t scream to me as i hoped so i might wait for the reviews to see how it is. I haven’t read anything by Rachel Hawkins yet but i do have some of her works on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing

    Georgie @ What She Reads
    tweet @whatgeorgiedid

  6. Belle Read says:

    I have had my eye on this one too. Great pick.

  7. Lucy says:

    Nice choice! I picked up this book at Comic-Con and it does sounds fun. Hawkins has such a great sense of humor, and it sounds like it carries through to this book. Hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

