Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as A Movie/TV Show

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s topic was fun to put together! I sorted them into categories: the Do-Overs, the Wished-for Continuations, and New Films/TV shows. Of course, I’m definitely using the caveat that I’d want these film/TV adaptations only if they were fabulously done (hence the do-over category), but I think that pretty much goes without saying!

ttt37b

*Note: I actually liked this movie as a MOVIE but not as an adaptation. I wish we could go back and make it more aligned to the book!

ttt37a

*See above: I’d like the series to continue, but still wish we could redo the first installment! It really affected how they proceeded with the second film.

ttt37c

So there are the books I chose this week! What did you pick? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as A Movie/TV Show

  1. It’s a pity they never continued His Dark Materials but I honestly don’t remember too much from the first movie (except that Daniel Craig looked lovely in his suits in that movie and Nicole Kidman and Eva Green were in it too xD) so I think I’d be cool with a remake before continuing.

    And I agree re: re-making the first book before continuing the Percy Jackson series (my brother and I were shaking our heads when we saw the trailer to the second movie because the first movie messed up the overarching plot big time)!

    My TTT

    • Merin says:

      I actually liked Sea of Monsters. They fixed some of the biggest issues with the story (like the prophecy and Luke’s motivation for betraying Percy), at least in my opinion, so I definitely wouldn’t be averse to seeing a third. Plus, Thalia was magnificently cast; she looks EXACTLY like I’d pictured her!

  2. love love your list! so many that I would love to see to
    My Top Ten

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    The Lunar Chronicles would be incredibly interesting to see how it translates. Great choices!

  4. I want them to continue with the Narnia movies, as well! I have no idea why they just chose three random books, that weren’t even in the right order D:
    I actually wish they would make a film version of The Magician’s Nephew, as that is my favourite Narnia book. The story is just so awesome, and if they did a good job, it’s definitely a film for the whole family!
    Great picks, Merin ^.^
    My Top Ten post :)

  5. The Night Circus would be such a magical movie

  6. Lanaia says:

    Nice list! I’d love to see The Lunar Chronicles and The Night Circus as movies! If they wouldn’t ruin the whole story, that is.
    My Top Ten Tuesday.

  7. Yes! I really wish they would continue with the Narnia movies, I loved them so much! And I really wish they would continue with His Dark Materials as well ’cause it was so much fun :o

  8. I love your Do-Over and Continuation lists! I actually didn’t think that the first Percy Jackson was too bad, but it did leave out a few important scenes. I preferred the first movie to the second, and I am hoping that they continue on to make a third movie.

    Also, I completely agree that they should continue the Chronicles of Narnia! I loved those movies, and they had so much to work with in terms of plot lines and characters. It’s a shame that they did not continue the movies.

    Check out my TTT list: http://booksavvyblog.blogspot.com/

  9. Krista Davis says:

    I absolutely agree with your do-over choice. That was such an amazing book and such an epic failure of an adaptation. It could’ve been so much better.

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  10. I wish they would continue The Chronicles of Narnia too! Gallagher Girls is on my list too :)
    Top Ten Tuesday
    GIVEAWAYS: American Girl on Saturn and Heist

  11. Brittany says:

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make The Lunar Chronicles into a movie series! I’m already DYING to see them on the big screen! Who can I plead to in order to make this happen???
    The Night Circus would also be great! I’d love to see SSaD too!

  12. Quinn says:

    I was really disappointed with The Lightning Thief. And I’m not someone who is really critical of movie adaptations of books. I would love a do-over for that one.

    I actually really liked The Golden Compass – except that they didn’t have the right ending. I thought the little girl who played Lyra was brilliant! I would love to see that series continued for sure.

  13. bebeboss666 says:

    Totally agree about Lunar Chronicles! Great picks!
    http://spicedlatte.blogspot.com/

  14. I almost included the Gallagher Girls as an honorable mention but I’ve only read the first book so I’m not sure I’ll like the rest of the series.

    My TTT

  15. Ohh Blood of Eden would be an awesome movie worth seeing. Thanks for sharing your list.

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-i-would-love-to-see-as-a-movie-tv-show/

  16. I would LOVE to see CInder as a movie!

  17. I agree that they should continue His Dark Materials. I think it could be just as good if not better at a lower budget and aimed at a more selective audience instead of trying to appeal to everyone. I’d love to see the Lunar Chronicles as movies…I still need to read Scarlet…oops. My TTT

  18. I SO WANT to see Night Circus on film. I imagine it to be very beautiful~

  19. Haven’t read any Lightning Thief books or seen the film, but another definite do-over would be the Ella Enchanted film.
    And I would love if they just did the whole His Dark Materials trilogy. The first film was okay, but I’d also be okay just starting from square one there, I think.
    The Night Circus would be so interesting to see, as would the Lunar Chronicles. Great list!

  20. I wish they would continue the Chronicles of Narnia too!
    Here are my Top Ten .

  21. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

