Top Ten Best Sequels

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic ties in really nicely with my upcoming Merin’s Musing post, in which I discuss my thoughts on series, and trilogies in particular. I actually don’t mind series so much, although I do wish there were more stand alone titles being released nowadays. However, I have read some really great sequels, so this list was pretty easy to put together.

However, I did divide this up into two lists: sequels that – in my opinion – out-shined their predecessors, and sequels I can’t wait to read (that haven’t been released yet).

ttt38

eternitycureenvyoftritonstarcursedsiegeandstorm

Honorable Mentions: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling; The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis; The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman; Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers; Confessions of An Almost-Girlfriend by Louise Rozett

ttt38b
houseofhadessplitsecondcresssistersfategoingrogue
Books Listed:

  • The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden #2) by Julie Kagawa
  • Envy (Fury #2) by Elizabeth Richards
  • Of Triton (Of Poseidon #2) by Anna Banks
  • Star Cursed (Cahill Witch Chronicles #2) by Jessica Spotswood
  • Siege and Storm (Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo
  • The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus #4) by Rick Riordan
  • Split Second (Pivot Point #2) by Kasie West
  • Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
  • Sisters’ Fate (Cahill Witch Chronicles #3) by Jessica Spotswood
  • Going Rogue (Also Known As #2) by Robin Benway

What did you pick this week? Do we share any sequels on our lists? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Best Sequels

  1. Yeah Siege and storm and seriously Cress needs to come faster!
    My Top Ten

    • Merin says:

      I preordered Cress the other day and it just made me realize how LONG the wait for it is. I wish we could wave a magic wand and have ALL THE BOOKS be available right now this instant!

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I’m looking forward to Cress and Split Second too! Fab choices!

  3. I am SO excited for Cress I can barely handle it! That cover is amazing! I need to read Star Cursed. I really liked Born Wicked. I don’t know why I haven’t.

    Thanks for the list.

    ~Sara @ Just Another Story

  4. kimberlyfaye says:

    I can’t wait for Cress. It needs to be here, like, now.

    My TTT.

  5. Andi ABCs says:

    HAHA! I put Split Second on my list too without having read it. :-D

    My TTT List

  6. Quinn says:

    Haha. Some of your honorable mentions for “better than the first” books are on my TTT this week: HP3 and The Subtle Knife. I totally agree with you, too.

    I am ridiculously excited for Cress, too. I can’t believe how much I love a science fiction series! And i’m excited for Going Rogue, too. More Jesse Oliver, Maggie, Roux and that guy that mentors her . .. I forget his name.

    • Merin says:

      Well, I wanted to do some of the ones I was looking forward to, so that’s why they were relegated to honorable mentions. :) I saw the cover for Going Rogue the other day and am so excited it’s almost here! It releases in January, so not too much longer to wait. :)

  7. leydylaura says:

    Siege & Storm <3

    We are doing a Fall Giveaway. Click here to enter – Ghost Time by Courtney Eldridge and 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil. Perfect for the season!

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

  8. I can’t wait to get a hold of Split Second! I still need to read Siege & Storm :)

    Christy @ Christy’s Book Addiction

  9. I’m also looking forward to Cress, and I like that you included sequels you’re looking forward to! I also loved Siege And Storm a lot more than Shadow And Bone. Great list!

  10. I haven’t read a single one of your series Merin (well in your first list) but I definitely agree with your Narnia & Harry Potter honorable mentions!! AND SPLIT SECOND! Ohemgee… I absolutely cannot wait for it… I hope it comes on Edelweiss for early review, I CRAVE this one! I am really interested in reading the Fury series, I’m always eyeing it up in the bookstore!

  11. Siege and Storm rocked! So looking forward to Cress!!

  12. Anna says:

    House of Hades just needs to get here already!!! LOL Azkaban is on my list as well and I haven’t read Star Cursed yet, but I want to. I’ve been wary of it though, since I liked #1 but didn’t LOVE it like crazy. And I’m interested to see what West does with Split Second. Great list! :)

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2013/09/top-ten-tuesday-10_24.html

  13. Brittany says:

    I loved Of Triton and Siege and Storm and I still need to read Starcursed!!!
    OMG Cress was SOOOO fantastic! I can’t wait for everyone to read it :D I’m super excited for Going Rogue and Split Second too! :)

  14. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

