BLOG TOUR STOP: Review of My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway

MyExFromHellTourBanner

Today I’m excited to host a stop on the Blog Tour for My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling, sponsored by Xpresso Book Tours. I LOVE Greek Mythology retellings, so this book was right up my alley! Click the banner above to see the full list of tour stops, and don’t forget to enter my giveaway for [1] e-book copy of the book!

myexfromhellMy Ex From Hell (Blooming Goddess #1)
by Tellulah Darling

Te Da Media, 2013
[Goodreads] [Amazon] [B&N]

Sixteen-year-old Sophie Bloom wishes she’d been taught the following:
a) Bad boy’s presence (TrOuBlE) + teen girl’s brain (DraMa) = TrAuMa (Highly unstable and very volatile.)
b) The Genus Greekulum Godissimus is notable for three traits: 1) awesome abilities, 2) grudges, and 3) hook-ups, break-ups, and in-fighting that puts cable to shame.

Prior to the Halloween dance, Sophie figures her worst problems involve adolescent theatrics, bitchy teen yoga girls, and being on probation at her boarding school for mouthy behaviour. Then she meets bad boy Kai and gets the kiss that rocks her world.

Literally.

This breath stealing lip lock reawakens Sophie’s true identity: Persephone, Goddess of Spring. She’s key to saving humanity in the war between the Underworld and Olympus, target numero uno of Hades and Zeus, and totally screwed.

Plus there’s also the little issue that Sophie’s last memory as Persephone was just before someone tried to murder her.

Big picture: master her powers, get her memories back, defeat Persephone’s would be assassin, and save the world. Also, sneak into the Underworld to retrieve stolen property, battle the minions of Hades and Zeus, outwit psycho nymphs, slay a dragon, rescue a classmate, keep from getting her butt expelled from the one place designed to keep her safe …

… and stop kissing Kai, Prince of the Underworld.

My Ex From Hell is a romantic comedy/Greek mythology smackdown. Romeo and Juliet had it easy.

mythoughtsAs a lover of anything that takes Greek Mythology and sets it in the modern-day world, I knew I absolutely had to read My Ex From Hell. It sounded like a fresh take on the usual Hades & Persephone story, and the sass of the main character came through clearly just in the summary. I knew I’d like Sophie quite a lot, and I wasn’t wrong; she was probably the strongest part of the book, and what I enjoyed the most. This book also had a lot of twists and turns, with interesting characters, fascinating back stories, and an entertaining way of bringing the mythological beings and creatures into existence. I really enjoyed the book.

Sophie – a.k.a. Persephone – was interesting, because she came through loud and clear as a very real, sixteen-year-old girl. I loved to watch her come to terms with who she actually was, while still maintaining a sort of innocence and sense of self regarding her humanity. She is sassy, sarcastic, and laugh-out-loud funny all at the same time, and I pretty much had a smile on my face the entire time I was reading her story. This had a very “coming of age” feel to it in the sense that Sophie can’t remember much of anything from her Persephone days, so the little flashes she gets work not only to inform her, but the reader as well. The whole unraveling of who she is and what she was trying to do as Persephone kept the book moving at a quick pace, and definitely kept me engaged.

There’s also an interesting cast of characters, from the love interest, Kai, to good friend Theo (who has his own secret identity, of course), to the science-loving best friend Hannah. I’m also intrigued by Cassie’s history, and the whole storyline with Bethany, which, while a tad too “typical mean girl” seems to have a bit more going for it in the sequel and will probably provide a great way to bring some of the characters together. I also liked the introduction of some lesser-known mythological creatures, like the beings trying to harm Sophie, and the main villain in this story itself. One thing I do wish we could have seen a bit more of is the gods/goddesses themselves, but since this is not your average mythology story, I can understand why they were noticeably absent.

If you’re looking for a story that’s not your run of the mill mythology retelling, do check out My Ex From Hell. The sass and quick wit of the main character will have you laughing and smiling, and the love story hints at something epic and special and amazing, even though we don’t necessary get to see that in this installment. The ending IS a cliffhanger, so do be aware of that, but even if it hadn’t been, you can bet I’d be tuning in to the second installment. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Sophie and Co.!

3.5stars

A copy of this book was provided for blog tour purposes in exchange for an honest review.

giveawaybanner

As part of this blog tour, I am giving away [1] e-book copy of My Ex From Hell! Giveaway is open internationally, and ends October 11th. Please fill out the Google form below to enter. Good luck!

About the Author:

1AuthorTellulah Darling
noun
1. YA Novelist
2. Alter ego of former screenwriter and instructor
3. Sassy minx

Geeks out over: cool tech.
Squees for: great storytelling.
Delights in: fabulous conversation.
Writes about: where love meets comedy. Awkwardness ensues.

You can connect with Tellulah at the following links:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

signature2

This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BLOG TOUR STOP: Review of My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway

  1. Great review, Merin! I love how much humor this book seems to have that’s a definite way to attract me to a book! :)

  2. Thrilled to have you hosting My Ex From Hell today, Merin! Thanks so much. :)

  3. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

