September Book Haul

stsbanner

So, it’s been a month since my last Book Haul Post! I decided back then to just do Monthly Hauls, so that’s what this is. That means there are quite a few books for me to share with you, although I really did well in NOT buying books, since I already have so many on my shelves. Most of these are e-galleys that I just couldn’t resist (self-control is occasionally something I struggle with!), and also some really nice Kindle/e-book deals that I bought via Amazon. So here’s what I picked up in the month of September!

sts

Borrowed from Library:

  • Rogue (Croak #3) by Gina Damico

pawn inatreacherouscourt sanctum rebelbelle
alienated broken fordarknessshowsthestars diamondsanddeceit
farfromyou aliftheunseen palaceofspies

E-books/E-Galleys:

Thank you a TON to Disney-Hyperion, Harlequin Teen, Putnam Juvenile, Sourcebooks Fire, and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for the e-galleys! All of these are books I am highly anticipating, and I can’t wait to read them!

Other Goodies:

I loved the second Star Trek movie when I saw it in theatres, so of course had to pick up the Blu-Ray when it was released. I had a hard time choosing which vendor to go with, though, because for some reason they split all the features on the Blu-Ray between the different stores, so it’s impossible to get them all unless you visit each place and pick up a copy each time! I don’t like this at all; WHY couldn’t they just raise the price a bit and put all the features together? In the end I went with the version sold at Target, just because it was the closest to my house. I am sad, though, that their version is missing the cast commentary.

In return for participating in the Blog Tour for Rogue by Gina Damico, I received a really cool Croak Prize Pack!

croakprizepack

I also picked up a pair of Tieks Ballet Flats in Lovestruck! They are extremely pricey, but as a teacher who very rarely sits down, my feet were absolutely killing me by the end of the day, so I decided to splurge and see if these shoes – which folks call “teacher shoes” – were really worth the hype (and hefty price tag). They totally are. Plus, they are ridiculously cute! Here’s a picture:

tieks

I love them so much that I just bought another pair – these in Echo Park – and am looking forward to wearing them on Monday.

RL STUFF:

  • Friday I attended a training on Nonviolent Crisis Intervention, where we learned various verbal techniques to de-escalate a student (or parent, ha) who is struggling to maintain control of their emotions. Included in this training are approved restraints that can be used should a major crisis situation occur. The training should come with a disclaimer that all participants need to shower, LOL, because we were up close and personal with each other! Luckily all of the people I got to know quite well had taken great care with their personal hygiene. :D
  • I have to work on my students’ report cards this weekend. Luckily the report cards aren’t difficult for first grade! Just focusing on Reading, Math, Science, and Life Skills. It shouldn’t take me too long to get through them.
  • Parent-Teacher Conferences are next week! I’m a little nervous to be going through this for the first time, although I don’t anticipate any difficult parents, aside from possibly one little one who is really struggling with behavior who I’ve asked the counselor to attend with me. Fingers crossed that they all go well!
  • The next Heroes of Olympus book – The House of Hades – comes out on Tuesday! I am desperately trying to finish up two books before its release, so I can fully immerse myself in the Rick Riordan goodness.

So there are my new additions and goodies! What have you picked up lately? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to September Book Haul

  1. It sucks when they do the different DVD/blu-Ray edition for each vendor. The point is I guess that each vendor gets a piece of the DVD/blu-Ray sales…instead of everyone buying for Amazon. Plus it works well for the distributor too since fans/collectors would buy all the different editions. They tend to do this with titles that have a strong fan base.

  2. Love the cover for Palace of Spies!

  3. Hi Merin :) I feel like I haven’t chatted to you in awhile!! I can’t wait to see what you think of Pawn, I just requested that one because it sounds awesome! I seen it on there but the cover didn’t really catch my eye but then I got a tour request email for it and actually read the synopsis and it sounds great!! I seriously wish that I never clicked on the link for those ballet flats :P Now… I need a pair. I am on a constant hunt for ballet flats because I’m on my feet a lot at work and heels often get kicked off but I can never find a pair that are cute and super comfy… these seem like the ticket :)

    I hope you have an awesome October and good luck with your parent teacher conferences!!!!

  4. Thats a really great book haul! I have a few of these myself, I have almost finished Pawn and so far I am loving it.

  5. Lucy says:

    Those shoes are so cute! Looks like you have some great reading ahead. I’m drawn to the cover of Palace of Spies.

  6. Jillyn says:

    I’m jealous that you got Rebel Belle, I can’t wait for that one. I got Pawn this week as well, and those shoes are adorable! Enjoy your new reads :)

    My STS

  7. Those ballet flats are so cute! I enjoyed Palace of Spies and Diamonds & Deceit and hope you do too! :) Happy reading!

    Alice @ Alice in Rederland

  8. Quinn says:

    Those shoes are so cute! And if you’re on your feet all day, then it’s worth it to spend a little more money. I actually wear Toms to work all the time. They are a little pricey, but not really that bad. They are so comfortable, but they are boarding on being too casual. I really want those shoes you got, though. Is there a lot of room for your toes? I hate when my toes are cramped.

    I really need to read For Darkness Shows the Stars! Enjoy all your goodies. Good luck on your parent-teacher conferences.

    • Merin says:

      The sparkle ones do have room, the ones I just got not so much. But it took a few wearings to stretch the sparkly ones out, so I’m hoping that my new ones will fit just as nicely. :)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

